Printer Friendly

NAMA honors the best in leadership.

NAMA has named the organization's national leadership award recipients. Awards were presented at the Best of NAMA Awards Ceremony in Phoenix. Below is a listing of each award and the recipient.

President's Award

Beth Burgy, North Central Chapter (Broadhead + Company)

The President's award is presented each year to an individual who contributes in a significant way to the agenda of the national president. This year, President Tom Taylor has chosen an individual that has taken one of his top priority areas, professional development, and created a program that reaches a new generation of NAMA members.

When challenged with creating a professional development opportunity that would appeal to newer entrants into agri-marketing, Burgy didn't hesitate to volunteer her time and talents. The result was the inaugural Agri-Marketing Boot Camp. Burgy's committee created a relevant, high-value two-day program with attendance of over 100 people, 17 who became NAMA members.

R.C. Ferguson Award

Lee Dueringer, Desert Southwest Chapter (Arizona Children's Assn.)

Lee Dueringer's career-long dedication and service to NAMA deserves recognition through this award. Prior to his early retirement from Elanco Animal Health, Dueringer served in many leadership positions at the chapter and national levels including chapter and national president.

Dueringer agreed to serve as the president of the Desert Southwest Chapter with the realization that the Agri-Marketing Conference & Trade Show would be held in their home town. His leadership has resulted in a schedule of chapter meetings, visits to agribusiness companies, new members and increased excitement about NAMA.

Dilworth Award for Innovation

John Finegan, NAMA Pacific Chapter (Beck Ag Com)

The Agribusiness Forum Committee tackled a big challenge this year as the timing of that event was moved to mid-November and involved dovetailing the forum with the NAFB annual convention. As chair of this committee, Finegan's leadership resulted in an innovative approach to the Agribusiness Forum schedule which provided members a high-value program while saving them time and budget.

Workhorse of the Year

Angela Bendorf Jamison, Carolinas/ Virginia Chapter (Communicopia)

Angela Bendorf Jamison served as the president of the Carolinas/Virginia Chapter. Her leadership has resulted in an outstanding year of programs and activities. Jamison also served as a member of the Agri-Marketing Conference committee taking on several assignments and completing them in a timely and professional manner.

Outstanding Chair

Sarah Vacek, Gateway Chapter (Monsanto)

Sarah served as the chair of this year's Agri-Marketing Conference & Trade Show. Her committee consisted of twelve members who were all engaged in planning the program for conference. Her leadership on this committee, together with her personal commitment, resulted in the committee meeting all goals and deadlines in the conference planning.

Meritorious Achievement

Sharon Larson, North Central Chapter (Morgan & Myers)

Sharon Larson served as the chair of the Best of NAMA Committee and this year the decision was made to hold all of the regional judging in one location and dovetail it with the Agribusiness Forum. Larson's committee guided this change which resulted in 1,212 entries being judged in a 25,000 square foot exhibit hall involving over 60 judges.

Robert Ratliff, Carolinas/Virginia Chapter (

Robert Ratliff has been hard at work this year as the chair of the national Membership Committee. His committee guided the continuation of the successful "Cultivating Connections" membership campaign which was launched last year. Changes to this campaign included the creation of a monthly newsletter, Grassroots. Membership is up 3 percentage points over the budgeted projection.


The following are NAMA members that joined in February 2005 Welcome.


Rebecca Catlett

Syngenta Seeds, Inc.


Randy Baker



Lane Kaplan

Rhea & Kaiser Marketing Comm.


Lucia Bond Konrath


Mick Glaze

Fort Hays State University


Toni Tripp

1st Farm Credit Services


Scott Arnold

Rain & Hail L.L.C.


Susan Christensen

Farmers National Company


Gary Enright


Rick Thaemert

Fleishman-Hillard Inc.

Robb Bertels

Vance Publishing Corp.


Dan Jurek

Martin Williams

Kathy Kane

Martin Williams


Angel Nash


Debbie Guthrie

Vance Publishing Corp.
COPYRIGHT 2005 Doane Information Service
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:National NAMA News: News and information for members and friends of NAMA; Beth Burgy, Lee Dueringer, John Finegan, Angel Bendorf Jamison, Sarah Vacek, Sharon Larson, Robert Radcliff
Publication:Agri Marketing
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Apr 1, 2005
Previous Article:NAMA announces award winners.
Next Article:Oh, that dreaded "C" word.

Related Articles
NAMA Recognizes the Best of the Industry.
Elanco leader takes top NAMA marketing honor.
NAMA awards.
Leader award winners.
Regional best of NAMA raises the bar. (Best of NAMA).
NAMA announces award winners.
NAMA announces award winners.
Agribusiness Leader of the Year.
Blaze any horizons lately?
NAMA announces award winners.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters