Printer Friendly

Murray, Kirsty: The Four Seasons of Lucy McKenzie.

** MURRAY, Kirsty The Four Seasons of Lucy McKenzie Allen & Unwin, 2013 200pp $14.99 pbk ISBN 9781743317020 SCIS 1621423

Lucy McKenzie is sent to stay, without her family, at her aunt Big's secluded weatherboard farmhouse. One night Lucy is woken by a child's call coming from one of the four landscapes painted on the dining room wall. Upon touching the painting Lucy discovers that she can pass through the wall and through time. She is drawn to visit her new friends April, Tom and Jimmy Tiger but is aware that her interaction with them might change history.

Murray's fantasy time travel story refers to other stories that use magical gateways to transport their main characters to another place until the magic fulfils its course. She creates an unhurried and suspenseful story with characters that engage in action oriented events. As the story unfolds the main characters undergo a personal growth and realisations that make them more likable to each other. The story explores themes of friendship, fire, flood, loss and magic. Ages 10+ LBa

COPYRIGHT 2013 Children's Book Council of Australia
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2013 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Author:Barrett, Leanne
Publication:Reading Time
Article Type:Brief article
Date:Nov 1, 2013
Previous Article:Moss, Fletcher: The Poison Boy.
Next Article:Murrell, Belinda: The River Charm.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters