Printer Friendly

Movers & Shakers.


Kay Werner has been promoted to manager of Medicare Secondary Payer Operations for Arkansas Blue Cross Blue Shield in Little Rock. Werner will be responsible for organizing and directing the prepay, subrogation and special recovery activities for the Arkansas Part A and B Medicare programs. Ed Person has been promoted to manager of Medicare Systems at Arkansas Blue Cross. Person will be responsible for systems oversight for Medicare Part A and B data center operations, Medicare Part A standard system maintenance operations and federal employees program systems operations.


Ruth H. Whitney has joined Mitchell Williams Selig Gates & Woodyard PLLC in Little Rock as counsel. Whitney previously worked for the Arkansas Department of Human Service as director of the division of county operations.


Sen. Tim Wooldridge, D-Paragould, has received the Award of Merit from Arkansas Environmental Federation for his work on a scrap metal recycling bill. Joseph Pascale, Pascale Industries Inc. in Pine Bluff, received an Award for Merit and a lifetime membership for his service to the AEF and the Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission. Arkansas Educational Telecommunications Network in Little Rock received a Distinguished Service Award for partnering with AEF to produce an educational video and guide for eighth graders on Water quality. Stephen Rex Mason, EPA Region 6 in Dallas, and Bill Thompson of Pine Bluff received Certificates of Appreciation for their dedication and service to the AEF. Randall Mathis, former director of the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality, received lifetime membership. Tom Spann, the outgoing president of AEF, received the President's Award.

Sharon McMinn of Sherwood has received the first Making a Difference award from The Epilepsy Foundation in Washington, D.C. McMinn has written two books about epilepsy, helped people with epilepsy find long-term employment and started a support group for people with epilepsy.

Don Weaver of Weaver Bailey Contractors in El Paso has been elected president of the Arkansas chapter of Associated General Contractors of America. Other officers are Lynn Heller, Heller Co. Inc. in Hot Springs, vice president/treasurer; Jimmy Alessi, Alessi Keyes Construction Co. in Little Rock, secretary/assistant treasurer; and Jim Lareau, St. Paul Surety in Little Rock, chairman of the associate division. D.B. Hill Jr., D.B. Hill Contractor in Little Rock, received a Lifetime Service Resolution from AGC. Kerry Cavaness, Freshour Construction Co. in Cabot, and Mike Halter, Ramsey Krug Farrell and Lensing in Little Rock, received the Distinguished Service Award. Jimmy Alessi received the Chairperson of the Year award for his work on the AGC Electrical Apprenticeship Committee.

Gary W. Dunwoody of Little Rock was re-elected to a seventh term on the board of directors for the Shrine fraternity and the Shriners Hospitals for Children at the organization's annual convention in Las Vegas. Dunwoody serves as Imperial High Priest and Prophet of the Scimitar Shrine Temple in Little Rock.

Dena Woerner has been promoted to director of sales for the Pine Bluff Convention and Visitors Bureau. Woerner will be responsible for sales and group services programs for the bureau and will assist with the promotion, coordination and development of the hospitality industry in Pine Bluff and Jefferson County.

Peggy Clark of Clark Timberlands in Arkadelphia has been elected president of the Arkansas Forestry Association in Little Rock. Other officers are Frank Wilson, Wilson Bros. Lumber Co. in Rison, vice president; Randy Crowder, Bragg Land Co. in Camden, secretary; and Glenn Gray, Georgia-Pacific in Crossett, treasurer.


Matt Sullivan has been promoted to district sales manager for McLeodUSA Publishing Co. in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Sullivan will be responsible for the sales and service of yellow pages advertising for the telephone directories in Little Rock, Searcy and Jonesboro.


Lloyd/Flanders in Fort Smith received the Manufacturer of the Year Award from the Casual Furniture Retailers Association in Chicago. The company, which won the wicker category, was judged based on their communications, customer service, design, merchandising and quality.


Jerry Halsey Jr., an executive broker for John White Real Estate in Jonesboro, has been awarded the Certified Commercial Investment Member (CCIM) designation from the CCIM Institute in Chicago.


Jim Harvey, CEO of Central Arkansas Water, and Steve Morgan, director of regionalism and future source for CAW, have received Lifetime Membership Awards from the American Water Works Association for their 30 years of local and national service in the water utilities industry. M. Jane Dickey has been elected chairman of the board of commissioners for CAW in Little Rock. Francille Turbyfill was elected vice chairman and Eddie Powell was elected secretary/treasurer. Walter L. Jones of Little Rock was awarded the Safe Driving Award from CAW for 21 consecutive years of accident-free driving.
COPYRIGHT 2001 Journal Publishing, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2001 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Arkansas area executives
Publication:Arkansas Business
Article Type:Brief Article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Nov 26, 2001
Previous Article:Maggie's Original Cookie Co. (New Businesses).
Next Article:Stock Summary.

Related Articles
The annual Five Star Invitational Golf and Tennis Outing drew over 100 movers and shakers of the real estate management and related industries to the...

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters