Printer Friendly

More cricketers to benefit when CBFS returns to Sharjah.

Dubai: Zahid Noorani, the chief executive of the Cricketers' Benefit Fund Series (CBFS), says his organisation was "set up to look after the welfare of ex-cricketers" and that more will benefit as soon as international cricket returns to Sharjah.

Set up by Abdul Rehman Bukhatir, the man considered the father of cricket in the UAE, CBFS, according to Noorani, contributed over $10million (Dh36.7 million) towards nearly 200 ex-cricketers during its hugely active 22-year history.

The fund was instituted to benefit mainly Indian and Pakistani cricketers, but since its inception in 1981, its list of beneficiaries has included a wider geographical area.

CBFS handed out the last of its grants in 2002; the year Sharjah hosted the last of its one-dayers.

Noorani said: "The fund was set up to look after the welfare of ex cricketers and is still active, but it contributes only when international matches are played. So when we have international matches here [in Sharjah] we contribute.

"And over $10 million has been given out and nearly 200 cricketers have already benefited from this scheme, so it's been tremendous for cricket.

In today's times $50,000 [given to players] is a lot of money.

Bukhatir was a cricket fan and he wanted to look after his heroes. He was very happy when he watched them play and he wanted to return all that they gave him during their cricket playing days."

CBFS Beneficiaries (Selected)


1981: Asif Iqbal (Pak); Madhav Mantri (Ind)

1982: Sunil Gavaskar (Ind); Intikhab Alam (Pak)

1983: GR Vishwanath (Ind); Ramakant Desai (Ind); Zaheer Abbas (Pak)

1984: Imran Khan (Pak); Salim Durrani (Ind)

1985: Wasim Bari (Pak); Eknath Solkar (Ind); Clive Lloyd (WI)

1986: Dilip Vengsarkar (Ind); Javed Miandad (Pak); Joel Garner (WI)

1987: Mudassar Nazar (Pak); Kapil Dev (Ind); Mushtaq Mohammed (Pak)

1988: Mohinder Amarnath (Ind); Richard Hadlee (NZ); Ravi Shastri (Ind); Mohsin Khan (Pak)

1989: Abdul Qadir (Pak); K Srikkanth (Ind); Vivian Richards (WI); Iqbal Qasim (Pak)

1990: Salim Malik (Pak); Duleep Mendis (SL); Alan Border (Aus)

1991: Gordon Greenidge (WI); EAS Prasanna (Ind); Wasim Raja (Pak)

1993: Rameez Raja (Pak); Desmond Haynes (WI); Mohammed Nazir (Pak)

1994: S Venkatraghavan (Ind); Mohammad Azharuddin (Ind); Haroon Rashid (Pak)

1995: Naushad Ali (Pak); Michael Holding (WI)

1996: Yashpal Sharma (Ind); Wasim Akram (Pak); Ijaz Ahmad (Pak); Chetan Chauhan (Ind)

1997: Waqar Younis (Pak); Ashok Mankad (Ind); Ejaz Butt (Pak)

1998: Shivlal Yadav (Ind); Roger Binny (Ind); Anshuman Gaekwad (Ind)

1999: Sandeep Patil (Ind); Nari Contractor (Ind); Aaqib Javed (Pak); Malcolm Marshall (WI); Aamir Malek (Pak)

2000: Maninder Singh (Ind); Saeed Anwar (Pak); Navjot Singh Sidhu (Ind)

2001: PCB (Pak); BCCSL (SL)

2002: Anwar Khan (Pak); Ashraf Ali (Pak)

Al Nisr Publishing LLC 2009. All rights reserved.

Provided by an company
COPYRIGHT 2009 Al Bawaba (Middle East) Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2009 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Gulf News (United Arab Emirates)
Geographic Code:7UNIT
Date:May 24, 2009
Previous Article:UAE should be more than just a port of call.
Next Article:Scandal forces review of web policies.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters