Printer Friendly

Mississippi Junior Academy of Science.

2005 MJAS Competition Report

The annual MJAS competition was held on February 11, 2005, at the Hinds Community College--Raymond Campus. Dr. Robert A. Thomas, a biologist from Loyola University-New Orleans, gave the keynote address. He presented a very informative talk entitled "Communicating Science: The oft forgotten, but essential element of being a scientist." Attendance increased this year and the quality of presentations was outstanding. I plan on attending the MSTA meeting in October as well as regional science fairs to encourage MJAS participation next year. If you have any connections at the high school level and/or have ideas to help increase our numbers, please contact me at Thanks to all of the academy members who volunteered their time by judging the presentations.
Attendance report:
 # of presenters 14
 # of observers 30
 # of parents 9
 # of teachers 5
 # of judges 9
 Total # in attendance 77

Schools represented:

Jim Hill High School (Jackson)

Murrah High School (Jackson)

Oak Grove High School (Hattiesburg)

Presbyterian Christian High School (Hattiesburg)

St. Andrew's Episcopal High School (Jackson)

2005 MJAS Competition Overall Winners

First Place Winner (Clyde Sheely Award) -- Jonathan Priester, Murrah High School

Second Place Winners -- Antoinette Dawson, Murrah High School

Special Recognition -- Raven Worthy, Murrah High School

2005 MJAS Competition Divisional Winners

Class I Division Environmental and Behavioral Sciences

Sandesh Shettar, St. Andrew's Episcopal School & Heather Smith, St. Andrew's Episcopal School

Special Recognition

Mary Anne Messer, Presbyterian Christian High School

Class II Division Behavioral Sciences, Sociology and Psychology

Samanthia Thompson, Jim Hill High School & Raven Worthy, Murrah High School

Class II Division Medicine & Health

Jonathan Priester, Murrah High School & Antoinette Dawson, Murrah High School

2005-2006 MJAS Executive Board
President: Heather Smith
 St. Andrew's Episcopal School
Vice-President: Sandesh Shettar
 St. Andrew's Episcopal School
Secretary: Mary Anne Messer
 Presbyterian Christian Episcopal School
Board Members: Antoinette Dawson
 Murrah High School
 Jonathan Priester
 Murrah High School
COPYRIGHT 2005 Mississippi Academy of Sciences
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Journal of the Mississippi Academy of Sciences
Date:Apr 1, 2005
Previous Article:President's column.
Next Article:Agriculture and Plant Sciences.

Related Articles
Mississippi Junior Academy of Sciences.
Jones County Junior College Instructor Elected as Director of the American Junior Academy of Sciences.
Report from the Mississippi Academy of Sciences Delegate to the American Association for the Advancement of Science and National Association of...
Mississippi Junior Academy of Science 2001 Research Paper Competition.
"The Mississippi Academy of Sciences Candle Burns Brightly!".
President's column.
Executive officer's column.
MAS Awards: nominations solicited.
The Mississippi Junior Academy of Science.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters