Printer Friendly

Members on the move.

ACPE members advancing their careers

James M. Lally. DO, MMM, was the 2008 Mentor of the Year for the American Osteopathic Association, chosen from a pool of more than 140 DOs and other leaders nominated by nearly 200 college students, osteopathic medical students, interns, residents and practicing physicians. Lally serves as president and chief medical officer of the Chino Valley Medical Center in California. He is also medical director of a clinic in Montclair, Calif., where he supervises a training program for first-and second-year students from the Western University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific in Pomona Calif.


Steven P. Kouris, DO, MPH, MS, CPE, FAPA is chairman of the psychiatry department and professor of clinical psychiatry at the University of Illinois College of Medicine in Rockford. Concurrently, he serves as a medical director for the Illinois Department of Human Services. He is also the founder and CEO of BlackHawk Behavioral Consultants. Kouris oversees all mental health education and clinical activity at the college of medicine, which includes several affiliated programs and community organizations in Northern Illinois. He recently established a regional Autism Center in partnership with Easter Seals of Chicago. A graduate of the administrative medicine program at University of Wisconsin-Madison, University of Michigan Medical Center, Detroit Medical Center, Des Moines


University, University of Minnesota, and the Mayo Clinic, Kouris combines his skills in administration, psychiatry, medicine, and public health to positively impact the health and health care delivery systems of vulnerable, underserved populations in the communities of Northern Illinois and Southern Wisconsin.

Alan Rosenstein, MD, MBA, is medical director of Physician Wellness Services, a Minneapolis-based company that helps physicians and health care organizations manage the stress and other mental and behavioral issues that can lead to disruptive behavior and performance issues. Rosenstein will provide counsel for the company's comprehensive suite of services, bringing with him more than a decade of experience researching the problem of disruptive physicians, advocating for industry standards and developing intervention strategies for addressing the problem. In 2006, Rosenstein co-authored a landmark study of disruptive physician behavior that helped spur the health care industry into action. In response to growing concerns about patient safety, The Joint Commission issued a Sentinel Alert on Disruptive Physicians; requiring health care organizations publish a defined code of conduct and have a specific process in place for addressing disruptive physician behavior by January 1, 2009. Since then, organizations are actively seeking out providers to help them meet this need. In addition to serving as medical director for Physician Wellness Services, Rosenstein is also vice president and medical director for VHA West Coast, Pleasanton, Calif.


Donald S. Sheldon, MD, CPE, is president and chief executive officer of EMH Regional Healthcare System in Elyria, Ohio. Previously, he was vice president of medical affairs for the system. Sheldon earned his MD from University of Cincinnati College of Medicine and completed his internship and residency at Riverside Methodist Hospital. He earned his CPE in 1997.


Edwin J. Zarling, MD, FACPE, associate chief of staff at North Chicago VA Medical Center was recognized for exemplary performance at an awards luncheon in Chicago in May. During the awards ceremony, Zarling was recognized as one of three finalists for the Outstanding Supervisory Employee. Nearly 700 nominees from more than 60 federal agencies in the Chicago area competed for this year's awards. The Chicago Federal Executive Board's "Federal Employee of the Year" program covers 178 federal agencies and more than 78,000 federal employees in an 11-county area near Chicago. The awards recognize outstanding performance and valuable contributions made by federal employees as they serve the nation. Each year, federal employees from the Chicago Metropolitan area are recognized for their dedication and commitment. Nominations are evaluated by panels of federal employees who select finalists in each category. The categories that employees can be nominated for are professional employee, technical/program support employee, trade and crafts employee, program specialist, community service employee, public contact employee, team, supervisory employee, law enforcement employee, secretarial/clerical employee and law enforcement team. Zarling was recognized for his mentoring work that enhanced team function in the primary care department, improving patient and staff satisfaction, and markedly advancing clinical performance measures to be one of the top VA programs in the country.

COPYRIGHT 2009 American College of Physician Executives
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2009 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:James M. Lally; Alan Rosenstein medical director of Physician Wellness Services; Donald S. Sheldon chief executive officer of EMH Regional Healthcare System
Publication:Physician Executive
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Sep 1, 2009
Previous Article:Get involved in shaping ACPE with the college's new task forces.
Next Article:Obituary.

Related Articles
ACPE news.
Members on the move.
Panel of judges. (What Works Awards 2001).
Kizer to be presented with APHA's 2008 Award for Excellence.
Redefining the physician executive.
ACPE members advancing their careers.
Members on the move: ACPE members advancing their careers.
Jannifer Drake Harper.
Outlook is bright for physician executive leadership compensation.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |