Printer Friendly

Members elected to 18 parliamentary committees & bodies.

THE tussle between the ruling BJP and Congress over the post of Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha remains unresolved but members have been unanimously elected to as many as 18 parliamentary committees and government bodies for the first time in decades.

Among the committees to which unanimous elections have been held under the BJPled government are the allimportant parliamentary financial committees, including the crucial Public Accounts Committee, Estimates Committee and Committee on Public Undertakings.

A majority of those elected to the committees were BJP members and the panels have representation from various other parties, including the opposition.

In the Committee on Public Accounts, the BJP has eight members, while others include a member each from the Congress, Trinamool Congress, Akali Dal, NPF, AIADMK, BJD and Shiv Sena. The panel's chairmanship may go to K V Thomas of the Congress.

A maximum of seven members can be nominated by the Rajya Sabha to this panel that looks into the finance and accounts of the government and scrutinises the Appropriation Accounts of the government and the report of the Comptroller and Auditor General.

In the 30- member Committee on Estimates, the BJP has 18, while the Congress, Trinamool Congress and AIADMK have two each. The BJD, TRS, RJD, CPI- M, Shiv Sena and TDP have one member each. The Committee's chairmanship is likely to go to Murli Manohar Joshi, who is the senior- most member.

In the Committee on Public Enterprises, nine of the 15 members elected unanimously are from the BJP. There are also one each from the Congress, TDP, Trinamool Congress, AIADMK and BJD. Its chairmanship is likely to go to Shanta Kumar or Ramesh Bais of the BJP. Rajiv Pratap Rudy of the BJP has become a member of the committee named the National Tiger Conservation Authority.

Also in this list are committees for the welfare of scheduled castes and scheduled tribes, the committee on OBCs, and 13 important bodies like the Coir Board, Tea Board, Coffee Board, Khadi Village and Industries Board and the ESIC. Sources said better floor management and coordination with the opposition parties through back channels led to mutual agreement between leaders of various parties resulting in unanimous election.

Copyright 2014 India Today Group. All Rights Reserved. Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).

COPYRIGHT 2014 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2014 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Mail Today (New Delhi, India)
Date:Jul 28, 2014
Previous Article:Kanwariyas molest 23- yr- old Delhi woman.
Next Article:Modi wants his MPs to deliver the good news.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters