Printer Friendly

Membernews: Milestones, awards, educational opportunities.

Bernard L. Stein is James Ottaway Visiting Professor at the State University of New York, New Paltz. He will teach a spring semester course titled "Writing to make a difference Stein is editor of The Riverdale Press in the Bronx, N.Y.

Reid MacCluggage retired in October as publisher of The Day in New London, Conn. He was succeeded by Gary Farrugia, a longtime executive for Knight Ridder newspapers. MacCluggage, who led The Day for 18 years, was honored this year with the Ida B. Wells award.

The Wells award, for exemplary leadership in providing employment opportunities for minorities, is presented by NCEW in conjunction with the National Association of Black Journalists and the William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Kansas. Among MacCluggage's accomplishments is boosting The Day's minority employment to 20%. He also is applauded for developing and promoting numerous minority-recruitment programs within the newspaper industry.

Past president Chuck Stokes has been awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Metropolitan Detroit Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

Life member and past president James J. Kilpatrick received the 2001 Lifetime Achievement Award from The Phillips Foundation.

David Holwerk is editorial page editor of The Sacramento Bee. Prior to September, the host of NCEW's Lexington convention had been editor of the Duluth News Tribune for three years. He spent 15 years at the Lexington Herald-Leader, including 12 years as editorial page editor and three years as managing editor.

Past president Morgan McGinley, editorial page editor of The Day received the Stephen A. Collins Freedom of Information Award from the Connecticut Council on Freedom of Information. McGinley was involved with the governor's office and legislative leaders of two major FOI laws in 2000 and 2001.

McGinley is also one of four journalists awarded the Yankee Quill award from the New England Society of Newspaper Editors for broad and positive influence on journalism in New England.

Barry Rascovar, former deputy editorial page editor of the Baltimore Sun, ended his 30-year career at the paper this fall with an early retirement. Rascovar was host of the 1996 Baltimore convention.

Past president Dennis Ryerson is vice president and editorial page editor of the San Jose Mercury News He moved to California in October from Des Moines, Iowa, where he was vice president and editor of the Register. Ryerson also served as editorial page editor of the Register. While NCEW president, he was editorial page editor of the Cleveland Plain Dealer.

Joe Holley, Insight editor at the San Antonio Express News, has received the 2001-2002 Eugene C. Pulliam Editorial Fellowship from the Sigma Delta Chi Foundation.

Holley will study changes at the U.S.-Mexican border and investigate a theory that the border is being transcended.

Barbara Drake, editorial page editor of the Peoria Journal Star, won first place for local editorials from the Illinois Press association. The editorial, urging use of seat belts, vas written at the time of Jamie Epstein's death. Jamie, the 18-year-old daughter of Journal Star editorial writer Shelley Epstein, died in an auto crash on March 10. She was not buckled up. The Press Association also awarded second place for an editorial series to Mike Bailey, associate editor of the Peoria Journal Star.

Former NCEW member Chris Waddle has won a Fulbright grant to teach journalism to Central and Eastern European students at American University in Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria.

The 2002 Seminar on Education for Editorial Writers is set for May 3-5 in New York City. The annual session is a partnership between NCEW and the Hechinger Institute on Education and the Media, affiliated with Columbia University Each year, about 30 participants are chosen from news and broadcasting organizations. The institute provides housing and meals and offers a travel grant. Deadline for application is in late March. Contact Gene I. Maeroff, director, at or by mail at The Hechinger Institute, Teachers College, Columbia University, 525 West 120th Street, Box 127, New York, NY 10027-6696.
COPYRIGHT 2001 National Conference of Editorial Writers
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2001, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:The Masthead
Article Type:Brief Article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Dec 22, 2001
Previous Article:Founding president marks 100 years.
Next Article:Learning with legwork. (Editor's Note).

Related Articles
Paul Greenberg.
Milestones, awards, educational opportunities.
'Buddy' Davis, Pulitzer winner, dead at 80.
Milestones, awards, educational opportunities.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |