Printer Friendly

Meet the 2008-09 AACN Certification Corporation Board.

The AACN Certification Corporation welcomed new leadership on July 1 as Beth Martin, RN, MSN, CCNS, ACNP, succeeded Kevin Reed, RN, MSN, CNA-BC, CPHQ, as chair of the corporation's Board of Directors.

Taking office with Martin as chair-elect was Maria Shirey, RN, MS, MBA, FACHE, CNAA, BC. Christie Artuso, RN, MA, CCRN, PCCN, and Pam Bolton, RN, MS, ACNP, CCNS, CCRN, PCCN, are newly appointed directors.

Also joining the board as a consumer representative is David Swankin, who is well-known in both the consumer advocacy and certification fields.

John Whitcomb, RN, PhD, CCRN, and Mary Stahl, RN, MSN, APRN, BC, CCNS-CMC, CCRN, were appointed representatives of the AACN Board of Directors. Damon Cottrell RN, MS, CCNS, CCRN, APRN-BC, CEN is Secretary-Treasurer.

Returning to the board as director is Janice Wojcik, RN, MS, CCRN, APRN, BC. Susan Helms, RN, MSN, CCRN, PCCN, Deborah Greenlaw, RN, MS, MSNc, ACNPC, CCRN, APRN, ACNP-CS, and Carol Melman have completed their terms.

Beth Martin


Martin is a nurse practitioner with Palliative Medicine Consultants, Charlotte, N.C.

She received her bachelor of science in nursing at Spalding University, Louisville, Ky., and her master of science in nursing in adult health at the University of South Florida, Tampa, before earning her post-master's certificate as an acute care nurse practitioner from the University of South Carolina, Columbia.

As an active member of AACN, Martin has volunteered in a variety of roles, including on the CCRN Adult Item Writer Committee, Education Work Group, Faculty Advisory Team and as a member of the AACN Certification Corporation Board for 2003-05.

She is a member of the Piedmont Carolinas Chapter of AACN and a past member of the Gulfcoast Chapter of AACN.

Maria Shirey


Shirey is principal consultant with Shirey & Associates and an adjunct associate professor at the University of Southern Indiana College of Nursing in Evansville, Ind.

An active member of AACN since 1977, she is a recipient of the following Circle of Excellence Awards: Leadership (2002), Multidisciplinary Team for the Code Blue Team at Deaconess Hospital (2003) and the Value of Certification (2005). In addition, she is a champion for healthy work environments, contributing as both an author and editor toward building the body of knowledge on authentic leadership in nursing.

Christie E. Artuso


Artuso is director of Neuroscience Services at Providence Alaska Medical Center.

A member of AACN since 1983, she is an AACN ambassador and president of the South Central Alaska Chapter. Artuso previously served on the AACN Awards Review Panel, AACN Continuing Education Program Review Panel and Research Grants Awards Panel. In addition, she was a member of the PCCN SelfAssessment Exam Writing Task Force.

Pamela J. Bolton


Bolton is a critical care nurse practitioner and clinical nurse specialist at Good Samaritan Hospital.

A Chapter Advisory Team representative for Region 9, she is a member and past president of the Greater Cincinnati Chapter. She is a past member of the Greater Chesapeake Bay Chapter.

Bolton was a member of the PCCN Practice Analysis Task Force. In addition, she served on the AACN Board Advisory Team, AACN Awards & Scholarships Review Panel and Advanced Practice Advisory Committee, and was a member of the AACN Advanced Critical Care Editorial Board.

David A. Swankin


Swankin is president and CEO of the Citizen Advocacy Center (CAC), a training, research and support network for public members of healthcare regulatory and governing boards.

Swankin is also an attorney specializing in regulatory and administrative law. He has a broad background in both government and public interest advocacy, including assignments at the White House and the U.S. Department of Labor.

Swankin previously served as director of the Bureau of Labor Standards and deputy assistant secretary of the U.S. Department of Labor. In the mid-1960s, he became the first executive director of the White House Office of Consumer Affairs.

He was a member of the Pew Health Professions Commission in the late 1990s and also served as a member on the Institute of Medicine (IOM) Committee that wrote the 2003 report "Health Professions Education--A Bridge to Quality" in 2003.
COPYRIGHT 2008 American Association of Critical-Care Nurses
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2008 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:AACN News
Article Type:Report
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Jul 1, 2008
Previous Article:2007 AACN excellence in caring practices award in honor of John Wilson Rodgers.
Next Article:AACN survey shows commitment, satisfaction higher in certified nurses.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters