Printer Friendly

Media awards. (People).

Journalism Foundation of Metropolitan St. Louis.

The following awards were presented by the Foundation at its 33rd Annual Meeting.

The Gateway Gavel Award: Metropolitan Bar Assoc. of St. Louis for an Investigative Series to George Pawlacyzk, Belleville News-Democrat.

College Scholarships: Courtney Moseby, Howard University -- Association of Black Journalists; Leslie Cantu, Webster University -- Carl Baldwin Award; Rachel Kameshak, SIUE -- Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis; Colene McEntee, Fontbonne -- Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis; Jennifer Osterhage, University of Notre Dame -- IABC/Vandiver Group; Sara Lubbes, Fontbonne College -- Fleischman-Hillard; Kate Peters, Spring Hill -- Goodrich Gamble; Lauren Beck, University of Notre Dame -- NFPW-Missouri Affiliate; Margaret Edelman, St. Louis University -- Newspaper Guild; Amanda Rogers, Webster University -- Ray Noonan; Amela Abdihodzic, Webster University -- Elva Norman; Erin Guyer, University of Missouri -- Press Club/Bob Hardy; Erica Endicott, University of Missouri -- Press Club/Milton Ferman; Thomas Wyrich, University of Missouri -- Press Club/Media Persons of the Year; Janet Hoth, University of Missouri -- Public Relations Society of America; Erica Burleson, Webster University -- Webster-Kirkwood T imes.

Press Club of Metropolitan St. Louis Internships: Erin Tuyer, University of Missouri; Jeff Starck, Webster University; Jennifer Lee Swan, Westminster College.


The station won the Radio Television News Directors Association Edward R. Murrow 2002 Award for news reporting.


The station's news team won two first place awards from the Missouri Broadcasters Association. News Producer Brett Blume won first place in the Documentary/Public Affairs category for his story on how local health professionals prepare for biological and chemical attacks. Kevin Lavery, news producer, won top prize in Feature Reporting for his piece on the local exhibition of the St. Louis-built Mercury space capsule, which had been lost at sea for 38 years.

The station also claimed first prize from the Missouri Associated Press. Blume won first place in the Enterprise Reporting category reporting on an innovative program that the Missouri Highway Patrol offers. The station also won honorable mentions in the Enterprise Reporting category.

The Missouri State Teachers Association awarded Lavery first place in its Annual Media Awards Radio Features category.

KMOV, (Channel 4)

The station was honored with four awards from the Missouri Broadcasters Association in the categories of Spot News, Feature Reporting, Commercial and Public Service Announcement.
COPYRIGHT 2002 SJR St. Louis Journalism Review
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2002 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:St. Louis Journalism Review
Article Type:Brief Article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Jul 1, 2002
Previous Article:Ad/PR. (People).
Next Article:Ad/PR awards. (People).

Related Articles
Working with the media.
Lots of color, strong heads and short, targeted articles give Small Business Edge the edge.
Heroes and villains. (From The Editor).
NBC News' Today Show, PARADE receive AOPO Crystal Heart Awards.
Making the most of your business, trade media opportunities.
A contribution to your magazine.
Understanding diversity through novels and picture books.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters