Printer Friendly

McPhee, Peter. Every move.

McPHEE, Peter. Every move. Orca, Lorimer. 183p. c2004. 1-55028-850-4. $4.99. JS

This thriller set in Calgary is sure to grab the attention of every fan of suspense stories. Emily, a high school junior, finds herself the unwilling object of Michael LaVide's affections. Michael is a shy, introverted computer geek who gives off a creepy vibe right from the start. He lavishes attention on Emily, sending her cards, poems, and e-mails, but it quickly becomes clear that his interest in her is not exactly harmless. He knows every detail of Emily's life, watches her every move, and even manages to get a job at the same cafe where she works in an attempt to keep his eye on her at all times. In Michael's mind, the two are destined to be together and are actually dating. Things come to a head when his stalking of her moves from being annoying to genuinely frightening. Despite being mentally unhinged, Michael is not a wholly unsympathetic character. McPhee adeptly shows him to be a severely disturbed young man, one who can bounce quickly between being kind and, in his own sick way looking out for Emily, to being psychotic.

Every Move is suspenseful, if somewhat predictable, with choppy writing. The reader may find herself aggravated with Emily, who seems to wait way too long to involve her parents and the authorities in this case. As is typical in many thrillers, the heroine tends to do exactly what the reader knows she shouldn't do--go outside alone at night, respond to Michael's attention, and so on. The cliffhanger ending leaves this twisted tale of love open and Emily's safety uncertain. Fans of Caroline Cooney, Christopher Pike, or Lois Duncan will be satisfied with McPhee's story. Reluctant readers will keep turning the pages of this fast-paced novel to see what Michael will do next. Amanda MacGregor, Boston, MA

J--Recommended for junior high school students. The contents are of particular interest to young adolescents and their teachers.

S--Recommended for senior high school students.
COPYRIGHT 2005 Kliatt
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Author:MacGregor, Amanda
Article Type:Book Review
Date:May 1, 2005
Previous Article:Mazetti, Katarina. God and I broke up.
Next Article:Myers, Walter Dean. Shooter.

Related Articles
The Politics of Rural Life: Political Mobilization in the French Countryside, 1846-1852.
George Costakis: A Russian Life in Art.
The Ransom of Russian Art.
Revolution and Environment in Southern France: Peasants, Lords, and Murder in the Corbieres 1780-1830.
Energy in an insecure World. (Book Review).
McPhee, Peter. Out of time.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters