Printer Friendly

McClatchy Takes Home Three National Journalism Awards.

Journalists for McClatchy Co. have won three National Journalism Awards from the Scripps Howard Foundation. They were honored for Washington reporting, commentary, and human interest reporting.

Marisa Taylor, Margaret Talev, and Greg Gordon, reporters for McClatchy's Washington Bureau, received the Raymond Clapper award for their coverage of the firing of U.S. attorneys and the connection to officials in the White House and the Justice Department. Their work led to a congressional investigation and the resignation of Attorney General Alberto Gonzales and others involved in the scandal.

Jason Whitlock, a sports columnist at The Kansas City Star, won for commentary, and was praised for his ability to weave sports and social commentary together. Ana Men?ndez at the Miami Herald was also a finalist for commentary.

Anchorage Daily News reporter Julia O'Malley won the Ernie Pyle award for finding interesting stories in such varied places as living rooms, a Buddhist temple, and university computer labs.

McClatchy was the only media company to win three of the prestigious awards. This follows their other recent honors at the George Polk Awards last month, where McClatchy was the only company to take home multiple awards.

COPYRIGHT 2008 Duncan McIntosh Company, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2008 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Editor & Publisher
Date:Mar 10, 2008
Previous Article:Major Excerpt from 'E&P' Editor's Book on Iraq and Media Published at
Next Article:The Emperor's No Clothes: More Papers Jump on Spitzer Scandal.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters