Printer Friendly

Mahnoor, Murad in Women and Men to defend titles in National Ranking Badminton.

PESHAWAR -- Mahnoor Shehzad of Pakistan Wapda in Women and Murad Ali of National Bank would defend their titles in the Women and Men Singles in the All Pakistan National Ranking Badminton Championship, which got under way here at PSB Coaching Center on Monday.

Mahnoor Shehzad, who also represented Pakistan in the Asian Games, Commonwealth Games besides winning Pakistan International and a title in Nepal International Badminton Championship, said that she is in a good form and would defend her title being the National Champion.

'I have good practice round back home under my coaches from Pakistan Wapda and hopefully things would be better as far winning the title of this national ranking event,' Mahnoor Shehzad added. 'I'm winning National Championship in 2017, 2018 and 2019 and surely tried my hard to win back this title as well,' she said.

She disclosed that players like Palwasha Bashir, Sehar, Saima and Ghazala, all with her in the Asian Games squad, would give her tough fight. Playing international tournaments in Abu Dubai, Dubai, Nepal, Behrain, and Egypt gave her tremendous boost, she said, adding, 'Certainly availing international exposure would give her most needed experience.'

Winning the international title in Nepal in 2018, thin stature Mahnoor Shehzad, disclosed that she was runners-up at the same in 2017 but despite being runners-up, I committed to myself to win back the title next year and on the very next year I proved my commitment by winning the title for Pakistan in Nepal.

Besides Mahnoor Shehzad as top seeded, Sehar, Ghazala and Bushra are the other top seeding players vie for the top honor in the Championship. Murad Ali of NBP, hailing from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, is the top seeded player in Men singles, followed by Ali Mehdi of Pakistan Wapda, Azeem of Pakistan Wapda, Awais Zakir of Wapda.

Murad when contacted said that he would try his best to win back the title and keep his Pakistan No. 1 ranking intact as Ali Mehdi defeated him in the National Championship held recently.

Earlier, President KP Badminton Association Zafar Ali Khan and Secretary KP Olympic Association Zulfiqar Ali Butt formally inaugurated the tournament. Secretary KP Badminton Association Haji Mohammad Amjad, Organizing Secretary Mian Sadaqat Shah, Event Manager Hayat Ullah, former national champion Ayseha Ikram, Aamir Saleem, players and large number of spectators were also present during the colourful opening ceremony.

Men Singles Qualifying

1st Round

Kashif Sulehri (NBP) beat Omair Khan (ISB) by 21-18

Osama Sattar (PTCL) beat Abdul Salam (PMAD) by 21-7

Owais Danish (Army) beat Umair Khan (KP) by 21-11

Zubair Shah (KP) BEAT Omi Omer (Railway) by 21-18

Zain Ul Abdin (Army) beat Osama (KP) by 21-17

Sep. Arslan (Army) beat Usaid Gul (KP) by 21-18

M Bilal (Sindh) beat M Waqas (ISB) by 21-16

Ihtisham (Army) beat Daanyal Ali (NBP) by 21-8

Usman Shah (Army) beat Raza Ali Adil (PB) by 21-15

Ahmed Faizan (Wapda) beat Ibrahim Rasheed (ISB) by 21-11

Shahab Khan (ISB) beat Shakir (KP) by 22-20

Waqas (KP) beat Mannan (Police) by 21-6

Shahid Ahmed (Sindh) beat Sharjeel (Army) by 21-18

Abuzar (PB) beat Hassan (Railway) by 21-6

Junaid (Army) beat Mekael (KP) by 21-16

2nd Round

Shujaat Ali Khan (Wapda) beat Kashif Nawaz (FATA) by 21-11

Hayyan Uzair (N.K) beat Ahmad Janjua (ISB) by 21-9

Masood (Police) bear Owais Danish (Army) by 21-19

Ahmed Faizan (Wapda) beat M Ali (PMAD) by 21-7

Shoaib Riaz (KP) beat Uzair Altaf (Railway) by 21-14

Zunain Javed (Wapda) beat Faraz Malik (KP) by 21-17

Ihtisham Ali (Army) beat M Sahale (Fata) by 21-12

Zain Ul Abdin (Army) beat Inam (AJK) by 21-11

Hamza (Army) beat Gul Jan (Fata) by 21-11

Sheraz Ur Rehman (Wapda) beat Shahab Khan (ISB) by 22-20

Nowsherwan (Army) beat Arslan (Army) by 21-12

Muqsit Islam (Army) beat Zuhaib (Army) by 21-8

Abdullah Latif (Army) beat Bilal (Sindh) by 21-6

Haroon (Police) beat Abdullah Rehman (Army) by 21-11

Shahan (KP) beat Waqas Khan (FATA) by 23-21

Qari Adnan (KP) beat Yasir Ali (N.K) by 21-14

Shahid (Sindh) beat Maaz (Sindh) by 21-16

Tehseen Ullah (Wapda) beat Adnan Aziz (Wapda) by 21-17

Kashif Sulehri (NBP) beat Daniyal (KP) by 21-8

Nabeel (Railway) beat Ali Chishti (ISB) by 21-12

Zuhaib (Police) beat Uzair (KP) by 23-21

Usman Ghani (Army) beat Muzamil (AJK) by 21-9

Ozair (KP) beat Hayyatullah (Police) by 21-15

Abuzar (PB) beat Attique Ch. (Wapda) by 22-20

Osama Sattar (PTCL) beat Zubair Shah (KP) BY 21-13

Hafiz Wasif (N.K) beat Waqas (KP) by 21-16

Junaid (Army) beat Zarak (KP) by 21-10

Tayyab Shafiq (PB) beat Usman Shah (Army) by 23-21

3rd Round

Abdullah Latif (Army) beat Kashif Sulehri (NBP) by 21-15

Nabeel (Railway) beat Shahan (KP) BY 21-12

Tayyab Shafiq (PB) beat Usman Ghani (Army) by 21-19

Abuzar (PB) Beat Asif (PMAD) by 21-9

Shoaib Riaz (KP) beat Shujaat Ali (Wapda) by 21-15

Hafiz Wasif (N.K) beat Moin Khan (Balo) by 21-10

Tehseen Ullah (Wapda) beat Shahid (Sindh) by 21-14

Ihtisham Ali (Army) beat Masood (Police) by 21-14

Ozair (KP) beat Junaid (Army) by 21-8

Ahmed Faizan (Wapda) beat Yousaf (Army) by 21-7

Hayyan (N.K) beat Sheraz Ul Hassan (Wapda) by 21-16

Qari Adnan (KP) beat Nowsherwan (Army) by 23-21

Osama Sattar (PTCL) beat Hamza Iqbal (Army) by 21-17

Zuhaib (Police) beat Zain Ul Abdin (Army) by 21-14

Haroon (Police) beat Zunain Javed (Wapda) by 21-13

Muqsit Islam (Army) beat Hamza (KP) by 21-12

4th Round

Haroon (Police) beat Hayyan (N.K) BY 21-12

Abuzar (PB) beat Tayyab Shafiq (PB) by 23-21

Abdullah Latif (Army) beat Osama Sattar (PTCL) by 21-14

Qari Adnan (KP) beat Hafiz Waif (N.K) by 21-14

Shoaib Riaz (KP) beat Ahmad Faizan (Wapda) by 21-15

Muqsit Islam (Army) beat Zohaib Khan (Police) by 21-19

P.A Nabeel (Railway) beat Ihtisham Ali (Army) by 21-18

Tehseen Ullah (Wapda) beat Ozair (KP) by 21-11
COPYRIGHT 2019 Knowledge Bylanes
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Balochistan Times (Baluchistan Province, Pakistan)
Geographic Code:9PAKI
Date:Apr 23, 2019
Previous Article:Take extra care of your kids teeth; warn pediatric dentists.
Next Article:Pakistani businessman appointed by People's Congress in Yiwu, China.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters