Printer Friendly

MQM-P fails to unanimously agree on Senate candidates.

Byline: Hafeez Tunio

KARACHI -- Persisting deadlock, Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) has failed to unanimously agree on candidates for the March 3 Senate elections.

After three days controversy over nomination of candidates, Sattar finally announced the candidates for Senate.

Kamran Tessori and Farhan Chisti have been nominated for general seats, Ahmed Chinoy and Hasan Feroz have been awarded the tickets in technocrat category. Sattar has nominated Nighat Shamim for the women's seat and Mangla Sharma for the minority seat.

Sattar has also given a nod to four other leaders of his group including Khawaja Sohail, Qamar Mansoor, Ali Raza Abidi and Shahid Pasha to submit nomination forms.

'Today, we are submitting nomination forms of a few members and after the date of withdrawal will finalise candidates with consultation of Rabita Committee,' Sattar stated in a press conference.

After failure to reach an agreement, Nasreen Jalil and other Rabita Committee members in a separate press conference outside the party headquarters in Bahudrabad said they are on their way to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to submit nomination papers.

The Rabita Committee has finalised four names including, Nasreen Jalil, Shabbir Qaimkhani, Aminul Haq and Dr Farogh Nasim.

Today, February 8, is the last day to submit nomination papers for the Senate elections scheduled to be held on March 3, reported Express News.

Rift in MQM-P over Senate election tickets

ECP have stated election papers can be submitted till 4:00pm today. Submission of nomination papers for seven general seats, two technocrat seats, two women seats and one minority seat from Sindh are still ongoing. Polling for the Senate elections will take place on March 3 in Karachi at the Sindh Assembly Building.

Upper house seats: 18 submit nomination papers for Senate elections

The ECP has stated that for the 12 seats in Sindh, 23 nomination papers have been filed so far. Pakistan People's Party (PPP), Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) and Pakistan Muslim League-Functional (PML-F) are the parties who have submitted nomination papers.

20 nomination papers have been submitted by PPP, while there are two nomination papers from PSP and one from PML-F. PSP is expected to submit more nomination papers today.

COPYRIGHT 2018 Asianet-Pakistan
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:The Express Tribune (Karachi, Pakistan)
Geographic Code:9PAKI
Date:Feb 8, 2018
Previous Article:Lawyers' protest.
Next Article:India could be behind target killing of Chinese national in Karachi: Ahsan Iqbal.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters