Printer Friendly

MDMA Welcomes New Board Chairman.

The Medical Device Manufacturers Association (MDMA) announced that Jeff McCaulley, global president of DJO Surgical, was elected as the new chairman of the MDMA Board of Directors during its 2019 Annual Meeting.

"Medical technology innovators continue to lead the way in solving some of the most pressing challenges facing patient care throughout the world, and it is critical the United States remains the global leader in this dynamic industry," said McCaulley. "MDMA has a tremendous track record of advancing policies that support this ecosystem, and I look forward to working with our members and all stakeholders who are committed to providing better health outcomes."

McCaulley highlighted the importance of repealing the 2.3 percent medical device tax to ensure it no longer thwarts patient care and innovation, shortening the gap between the regulatory process and securing reimbursement, and negotiating a successful MDUFA reauthorization as some of his top priorities during the course of his chairmanship.

"Jeff recognizes how critical it is to protect and grow the innovative and entrepreneurial sector of the medical technology industry, and he will continue the proud tradition of leading MDMA's passionate advocacy efforts," said Mark Leahey, president and CEO of MDMA.

McCaulley follows the successful three-year tenure of Paul LaViollete, executive chairman, SV Health Investors. McCaulley was named the global president of DJO Surgical in 2017, and prior to that was president and CEO of Smiths Medical. Over his career, he also served as president of the Global Reconstructive Division at Zimmer, where he oversaw five global business units and numerous functions, and held several senior executive roles at GE Healthcare. McCaulley has a bachelor of science degree in aerospace engineering from the University of Cincinnati and an executive MBA from the Owen Graduate School of Management at Vanderbilt University (Nashville, Tenn.).

The election was held by the MDMA Board of Directors during the organization's annual meeting in early May; more than 150 medical technology executives heard from CMS Administrator Seema Verma, Principal Deputy FDA Commissioner Amy Abernathy, CDRH Director Jeff Shuren, and many more.

COPYRIGHT 2019 Rodman Publishing
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:INDUSTRY NEWS
Publication:Medical Product Outsourcing
Date:Jun 1, 2019
Previous Article:Westfall Technik Acquires Three Businesses.
Next Article:Catapult Merges with Smithwise to Form Archimedic.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters