Printer Friendly

Lucky Me.

Lucky Me

Sachi Parker with Frederick Stroppel

Gotham Books

c/o Penguin Publishing USA

375 Hudson Street, New York, NY 10014

9781592407880, $27.00, www.penguin.com

LUCKY ME: MY LIFE WITH--AND WITHOUT--MY MOM, SHIRLEY MACLAINE provides a fine autobiography of Sachi's memories of her ever-changing life, which began at age two when her parents suddenly moved her to Japan to live with her father Steve Parker. Sachi was lied to for decades about the reason--until the truth came out, and rocked her world. By then her Japanese upbringing had taught her to be accepting, and with absent parents, Sachi grew to an uncertain adulthood filled with self-defeating relationships and choices. From being stranded in Europe at age 15 because her parents forgot to pick her up from boarding school to her mother's jealousy and the uncertainty surrounding her paternity, Sachi provides a vivid account of abuse, neglect, and one girl's desire to connect with her busy and absent parents. The result is a gripping saga, hard to put down and perfect for fans of Shirley MacLaine who want to learn more about her family life.

COPYRIGHT 2013 Midwest Book Review
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2013 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:'Lucky Me: My Life With-- and Without--My Mom, Shirley Maclaine'
Publication:California Bookwatch
Article Type:Book review
Date:May 1, 2013
Words:186
Previous Article:This is How to Get Your Next Job.
Next Article:Lucy Parsons: An American Revolutionary.
Topics:

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters