Printer Friendly

Long course swimmers set new records.

Several new national records were set at the Namibia Long Course National Championship held between five swimming clubs recently. The organiser, the Namibian Swimming Union, said it "congratulates all the swimmers who kept on producing one excellent swim after the next, over the four days. We also want to thank the officials for their contribution towards the success of this gala."

The event took place from 26 to 29 January at the Olympia Swimming Pool in Windhoek.

A total of 159 swimmers participated in this event. This event saw two new individual Namibian records set as well as three relay Namibian records. Most of the swimmers set new personal best times.

Christine Briedenhann (15) from the Namib Swimming Academy, was the winner of the Open Victrix Lu dorum with an accumulated total of 3448 FINA points. Kari van der Vaart was second with 3311 FINA points, while Godiva Beukes was third with 3060 FINA points. Both are from the Dolphins Swimming Club.

Christiaan Lamprecht from Namib Swimming Academy was the winner of the Open Victor Ludorum with an accumulated total of

3129 FINA points. Macquelin Winkler, also from Namib Swimming Academy, was second with 2976 FINA points. Florian Hentzen from Dolphins Swimming Club, came in third with 2926 FINA points.


Kiara Schatz (12) from the Namib Swimming Academy was the winner of the Junior Victrix Ludorum with 130 points. Zune Weber (10) was second with 122 points, after she broke the 50m backstroke record and Kiah Borg (13) was third with 113 points, after she broke the 50m breaststroke record. Both are from the Namib Swimming Academy.

Dewald Nell was the winner of the Junior Victor Ludorum with 116 points, while Theo Visser was second with 98 points. Lushano Lamprecht was third with 97 points. All three are from are from the Namib Swimming Academy.

A total of five clubs took part in the gala. The Dolphins Swimming Club was best with total of 2617 points, followed by the Namib Swimming Academy with 2038 points, Mpumalanga came in third with 597 points, Oranjemund Sand Sharks fourth with 203 points and Swakopmund Swimming Club fifth with 107 points.

A sponsorship from Alexander Forbes ensured the success of the gala. Their contribution was graciously acknowledged by the organisers.
COPYRIGHT 2012 The Namibia Economist
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Sport
Publication:Namibia Economist (Windhoek, Namibia)
Date:Feb 3, 2012
Previous Article:Omeya tees off.
Next Article:Tournament to showcase local talent.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters