Printer Friendly

League to stick; sport ROUND-UP.

RUGBY LEAGUE: Clubs have voted to stick with 14 teams in Super League from 2012.

The League was expanded from 12 clubs ahead of the 2009 season, when automatic promotion and relegation was scrapped and three-year licences were given to newcomers Celtic Crusaders and Salford City Reds.

However, the recent economic downturn prompted calls for an about-turn, the argument being that clubs would receive more central funding if the pot was split 12 ways instead of 14.

Rugby Football League chief executive Nigel Wood sparked a debate over the make-up of Super League at the launch of the new season in London last month and the issue topped the agenda at yesterday's meeting with club representatives to discuss future strategy.

Although no voting details have been disclosed, the League say that clubs decided to keep 14 teams, at least through to 2014 when the licences next come up for renewal.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2010 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Sport
Publication:Daily Post (Liverpool, England)
Geographic Code:4EUUK
Date:Feb 9, 2010
Previous Article:Murray absence; sport ROUND-UP.
Next Article:DeGale ready to make a big London splash.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters