Printer Friendly

Leaders honored at LTI luncheon.

Local elected officials enrolled in the Leadership Training Institute (LTI)'s Certificate of Achievement in Leadership Program were recognized and honored for their dedication to leadership and learning at the Leadership Luncheon on March 11 at NLC's Congressional City Conference in Washington, D.C. Nearly 175 people joined the LTI and the Leadership Training Council (LTC) to recognize the 44 certificate recipients.

The Certificate of Achievement in Leadership Program's "Spring Class of 2012" consists of four Platinum Certificate recipients, 10 Gold Certificate recipients, 12 Silver Certificate recipients and 18 Bronze Certificate recipients. Through the Certificate of Achievement in Leadership Program, local elected officials develop the critical skills necessary for effective leadership as well as personal development. These skills are developed around five core competencies: cornerstone, competent practitioner, communicator, collaborator and catalyst.

The following leaders were recognized for their achievements in the following levels:

Platinum Certificates

* Catherine Arnold, Councilor, Beaverton, Ore.

* Roy Gold, Mayor, Coral Springs, Fla.

* Gabriel Saravia, Councilmember, Kodiak, Alaska

* Michael Wojcik, Council Member, Rochester, Minn.

Gold Certificates

* Neal Andrews, Councilmember, Ventura, Calif.

* Claudette Bruck, Commissioner, Coral Springs, Fla.

* David Ray Coleman, Councilman, Petersburg, Va.

* Ted Gaebler, City Manager, Rancho Cordova, Calif.

* Beth Humenik, Councilmember, Thornton, Colo.

* Ceasor T. Johnson, Councilmember, Lynchburg, Va.

* Mary Lindsey, Councilor, Westminster, Colo.

* Jesse Matthews, Councilmember, Bessemer, Ala.

* Hanifa Shabazz, Councilmember, Wilmington, Del.

* Harold E. Thompson, Mayor, Union, S.C.

Silver Certificates

* Hiram A. Heath III, City Councilman, Fairburn, Ga.

* David Howard, Council At-large, Charlotte, N.C.

* Mark Kaiser, Councilor, Westminster, Colo.

* R. Michael Kasperzak, Jr., Councilmember, Mountain View, Calif.

* Joel F. Keller, Commissioner, Ocoee, Fla.

* Shelby Lowe, Councilman, Riviera Beach, Fla.

* Scott Maxwell, City Commissioner, Lake Worth, Fla.

* Angelette Mealing, Councilmember, Union City, Ga.

* Amos Newsome, Jr., Mayor Pro Tem, Dothan, Ala.

* Marcel L. Reed, Councilmember, East Point, Ga.

* Maurice R. Taylor, Alderman, North Little Rock, Ark.

* Jeffrey W. Weldon, City Manager, Brookings, S.D.

Bronze Certificates

* William Austin, Mayor, Riceboro, Ga.

* Roger A. Barlow, Councilmember, Center Point, Ala.

* Darrell Bjerke, Mayor, Beulah, N.D.

* Pete Constant, Councilmember, San Jose, Calif.

* Clorinda Erives, Councilwoman, Tolleson, Ariz.

* Barbara Hoppe, Council Member, Columbia, Mo.

* Kenneth Jones, Councilman, Akron, Ohio

* Linda Kennemur, Councilwoman, Center Point, Ala.

* Lee P. Meyerhofer, Council President, Kaukauna, Wisc.

* David Mosby, Council Member, Oak Ridge, Tenn.

* Brenda Pree, City Clerk, Jackson, Miss.

* Dan Ryan, Council Member, Brooklyn Center, Minn.

* Alice Scott, Alderwoman-at-Large, Canton, Miss.

* Jacqueline Slaughter-Gibbons, Councilmember, East Point, Ga.

* Maurice R. Taylor, Alderman, North Little Rock, Ark.

* Peter Truax, Councilor, Forest Grove, Ore.

* Jeffrey Weisensel, Councilmember, Rosemont, Minn.

* Reginald Wilson, Councilman, Midfield, Ala.

Details: For more information on the Leadership Training Institute, visit the NLC website at
COPYRIGHT 2012 National League of Cities
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Certificate of Achievement in Leadership Program
Author:Lumia, Crislyn
Publication:Nation's Cities Weekly
Article Type:Conference news
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Mar 12, 2012
Previous Article:Free tool helps cities assess impact of switching to LED street lighting.
Next Article:Atlanta launches job matching platform.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters