Printer Friendly

Latvia to Become 18th Member of European Bailout Fund in March.

TEHRAN (FNA)- The newest-eurozone-member Latvia will join the European Stability Mechanism (ESM) on March 13, becoming the 18th member of such European bailout fund.

According to a statement issued on Monday by ESM, Latvia may request financial assistance if they experience problems with market financing, if such assistance is necessary to safeguard the financial stability of the eurozone as a whole and of its Member States, Xinhua reported. As an ESM Member, Latvia is obliged to subscribe to ESM capital, which provides backing for the debt instruments issued by the ESM in order to finance loans and other forms of financial assistance. Taking into account a temporary correction for new ESM members whose GDP per capital is less than 75 percent of the European Union average, Latvia's ESM capital contribution key was set at 0.2757 percent. This implies a capital subscription of 1.93 billion euros, including 221.2 million euros in paid-in capital. The payment of paid-in capital will be made in five annual installments of 44.24 million euros each. In July 2013 Latvia was formally approved for accession to the eurozone from 1 January 2014. Ee Ee Ee

2014 Fars News Agency. All rights reserved Provided by , an company
COPYRIGHT 2014 Al Bawaba (Middle East) Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2014 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:FARS News Agency
Geographic Code:4EXLA
Date:Mar 3, 2014
Previous Article:Berri Rejects Cabinet Policy Statement Excluding aACAyResistanceaACAO.
Next Article:Japan, North Korea Hold First Talks Since 2012.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters