Printer Friendly

LHA 7 to be named Tripoli.

Secretary of the Navy Ray Mabus announced on 4 May that LHA 7, the Navy's newest large-deck amphibious assault ship and second installment of the America (LHA 6) class, will be named Tripoli. A construction contract for the ship for $2.4 billion was awarded to Huntington Ingalls Industries on 31 May. Tripoli will be built at the company's Pascagoula, Miss., shipyard and is expected to be completed sometime in 2018. The America class shares much of the internal structure of USS Makin Island (LHD 8), but the new LHAs differ from LHDs in being exclusively aviation ships without well decks. The last ship to be named Tripoli, LPH 10, was decommissioned in 1995 but continues to be used as a missile test platform by the Pacific Missile Range Facility.
COPYRIGHT 2012 Department of the Navy, Naval Historical Center
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:AIRSCOOP
Author:Babb, Colin E.
Publication:Naval Aviation News
Geographic Code:6LIBY
Date:Jun 22, 2012
Previous Article:Roll, go, whoa!
Next Article:Missing naval aviator from Vietnam identified.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters