Printer Friendly

LEAD: Chronology of major events related to LDP.

TOKYO, Sept. 16 Kyodo


The following is a chronology of major events related to the Liberal Democratic Party, which lost power in the Aug. 30 general election after governing Japan almost continuously for the past 54 years since its founding.

Nov. 1955 -- The LDP formed through the merger of two conservative parties, the Liberal Party and the Japan Democratic Party.

April 1956 -- Prime Minister Ichiro Hatoyama, grandfather of Democratic Party of Japan President Yukio Hatoyama who was voted in as prime minister Wednesday, elected as 1st LDP president.

Oct. 1956 -- Hatoyama normalizes ties between Japan and the then Soviet Union before stepping down.

Dec. 1956 -- Tanzan Ishibashi replaces Hatoyama as 2nd LDP president and forms his own Cabinet, but he resigns the following year due to illness.

Feb. 1957 -- Nobusuke Kishi assumes premiership and becomes 3rd LDP president the following month.

May 1960 -- The LDP rams through passage of Japan-U.S. Security Treaty.

July 1960 -- Hayato Ikeda replaces Kishi as 4th LDP president, assuming premiership.

Dec. 1960 -- Ikeda Cabinet approves income-doubling plan.

Oct. 1964 -- Ikeda announces resignation the day after Tokyo Olympic Games close.

Nov.-Dec. 1964 -- Eisaku Sato assumes premiership and becomes 5th LDP president.

Dec. 1967 -- Sato declares 3 nonnuclear principles in the Diet.

May 1972 -- Okinawa returns to Japanese sovereignty from the United States.

July 1972 -- Kakuei Tanaka replaces Sato as 6th LDP president and Japan's premier at age 54.

Sept. 1972 -- Tanaka visits China, normalizing ties between Japan and China.

Dec. 1974 -- Takeo Miki forms his Cabinet after becoming 7th LDP president.

July 1976 -- Ex-premier Tanaka arrested over Lockheed scandal.

Dec. 1976 -- Takeo Fukuda replaces Miki.

Aug. 1977 -- Fukuda issues principles on diplomacy with southeastern Asian countries, the so-called ''Fukuda Doctrine,'' in Manila.

Dec. 1978 -- Masayoshi Ohira replaces Fukuda.

June 1979 -- Ohira chairs Tokyo Summit meeting.

July 1980 -- Zenko Suzuki becomes prime minister following Ohira's death.

Nov. 1982 -- Yasuhiro Nakasone replaces Suzuki.

Oct.-Nov. 1987 -- Noboru Takeshita replaces Nakasone as 12th LDP president and prime minister.

April 1989 -- Consumption tax introduced.

June 1989 -- Takeshita resigns, hit by the Recruit stock-for-favors scandal, and Sosuke Uno assumes premiership.

Aug. 1989 -- Uno steps down following the LDP's defeat in upper house election, replaced by Toshiki Kaifu.

Oct.-Nov. 1991 -- Kiichi Miyazawa replaces Kaifu as 15th LDP president and premier.

July 1993 -- The LDP fails to secure majority in general election, leading Miyazawa to resign. Yohei Kono becomes 16th LDP president.

Aug. 1993 -- The LDP ousted from power after Morihiro Hosokawa forms non-LDP coalition Cabinet.

June 1994 -- The LDP returns to power under socialist Prime Minister Tomiichi Murayama.

Jan. 1996 -- Ryutaro Hashimoto assumes premiership after replacing Kono as LDP president the previous year.

July 1998 -- Keizo Obuchi replaces Hashimoto, enacting laws over new Japan-U.S. defense cooperation guidelines, national anthem and flag.

April 2000 -- Yoshiro Mori assumes premiership after Obuchi suffers serious and ultimately fatal stroke.

April 2001 -- Junichiro Koizumi replaces Mori as 20th LDP president and premier.

Sept. 2002 -- Koizumi visits Pyongyang to sign Japan-DPRK Pyongyang Declaration.

Sept. 2006 -- Shinzo Abe assumes premiership, replacing Koizumi.

Sept. 2007 -- Yasuo Fukuda replaces Abe.

Sept. 2008 -- Fukuda announces resignation after hosting the G-8 summit in Hokkaido, replaced by Taro Aso.

Aug. 30, 2009 -- The LDP suffers a crushing defeat by the Democratic Party of Japan in the House of Representatives election.

Sept. 16, 2009 -- Aso resigns as LDP chief. DPJ President Yukio Hatoyama replaces Aso as prime minister.
COPYRIGHT 2009 Kyodo News International, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2009 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Japan Policy & Politics
Date:Sep 21, 2009
Previous Article:LEAD: PROFILE: New defense chief Kitazawa opposed SDF dispatch to Iraq.
Next Article:LEAD: PROFILE: New premier Hatoyama is political blueblood with scholar background.

Related Articles
Chronology of events up to LDP-LP coalition gov't.
Chronology of events related to postwar Constitution.
Chronology of events related to DPJ President Maehara.
LEAD: Chronology of major events in Shinzo Abe's life.
Chronology of major events in Shinzo Abe's life.
Chronology of major events related to LDP.
LEAD: Chronology of events related to DPJ leader Ozawa.
Chronology of events related to DPJ.
LEAD: Chronology of events related to DPJ.
LEAD: Chronology of major events related to DPJ.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |