Printer Friendly

Kerry trio lose spots in first 15.

BY RONAN MCMANUS KERRY boss Eamonn Fitzmaurice has shaken the Kingdom by making three changes for Sunday's All-Ireland final.

Fitzmaurice hasn't been afraid to shuffle his pack all season and on the biggest day of the year he will bench his captain Kieran Donaghy as well as All-Star defenders Marc O Se and Paul Murphy (all above).

Fionn Fitzgerald and Aidan O'Mahony come into the full-back line while Kerry's Championship top-scorer Paul Geaney takes over from Donaghy in the full forward line. Rumours were rife in the Kingdom all week that injury concerns would keep the longserving O Se and 2014 final man-of-the-match Murphy out of the reckoning but both are named on the bench.

The powerful O'Mahony is at full-back with Fitzgerald in the corner.

Up front Geaney is rewarded for a superb contribution when introduced against Tyrone in the semi-final and starts alongside Colm Cooper and James O'Donoghue in a lethal full-forward line.

In the absence of Donaghy, midfielder David Moran will lead the Kingdom out against Dublin on All-Ireland final day - 37 years after his father Ogie did the same thing.

Fitzmaurice's starting 15 has 11 survivors from last year's final win over Donegal. KERRY: B Kealy; F Fitzgerald, A O'Mahony, S Enright; J Lyne, P Crowley, K Young; A Maher, D Moran; S O'Brien, J Buckley, D Walsh; C Cooper, P Geaney, J O'Donoghue.


START Top-scorer Paul Geaney gets his chance

RUTHLESS Fitzmaurice has made changes again

No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Sport
Publication:The Mirror (London, England)
Date:Sep 18, 2015
Next Article:Luke's turned to the dark side.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters