Printer Friendly

Jeffrey A. Smith 2003 TAPPI outstanding Local Section member.

Jeffrey A. Smith, Senior Account Manager for BTG Americas Inc. in Norcross, Georgia, has been named TAPPI's Outstanding Local Section Member for 2003. This award recognizes outstanding leadership and exceptional service to a Local Section which has resulted in significant or demonstrable benefits to Local Section members.


Smith earned a bachelor's degree in Nuclear Engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 1976 and an MBA from Georgia State University in 1981. He earned his Professional Engineers license in 1983. He began his career as a market analyst with Nuclear Assurance Corporation in 1976. He joined BTG Americas Inc in 1980 and worked in engineering and manufacturing until 1986 when he was named a sales representative. Smith's professional areas of specialization are in pulp consistency measurement and control as well as ceramic doctor blade technology applied to paper coating and tissue creping.

Smith has been a TAPPI member since 1988 and he has been an active and dedicated member of the Gulf Coast Local Section for many years. He served on the Gulf Coast Section Executive Committee from 1989 until 1991 and has been Membership Chair since 1991. He is responsible for the revival of the Section Newsletter in the early 1990s and assumed responsibility for newsletter publication in 2002. Smith has led the nominating committee for most of the past ten years and served as the point of contact for section communications and activities during leadership transitions over the past five years. He served as Meeting Chair in January 1995 and again in January 2002 and attended the 1997 TAPPI Leadership Conference.

In addition to his TAPPI activities, Smith is a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and the Instrument Society of America.
COPYRIGHT 2004 Paper Industry Management Association
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2004, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:TAPPI Honors
Publication:Solutions - for People, Processes and Paper
Date:May 1, 2004
Previous Article:Jay H. Vreeland awarded TAPPI Gunnar Nicholson Gold Medal.
Next Article:TAPPI members elect five to the board of directors for the 2004-2006 term.

Related Articles
TAPPI 2002 Annual Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony.
TAPPI 2003 Annual Meeting scheduled for March in Orlando.
TAPPI award winners and fellows.
The PLACE division.
Awards & recognition.
Member news.
New TAPPI leaders: TAPPI's new president and vice president will take office during the TAPPI Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony February 23, 2005 in...
Douglas J. Muller named TAPPI Paul Magnabosco Outstanding Local Section Member.
TAPPI Paper and Board Division.
2006 TAPPI award winners and new Fellows.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters