Printer Friendly

James Rodriguez Scoops Up FIFA Puskas Award.

TEHRAN (FNA)- James Rodriguez won the FIFA Puskas Award following his wondergoal in Colombia's World Cup win over Uruguay, finishing ahead of Stephanie Roche and Netherlands international Robin van Persie.

The Real Madrid star enjoyed a sublime World Cup, with one of his tournament highlights a stunning turn and volley that set Colombia on their way to a 2-0 round-of-16 win over Uruguay, Goal reported.

James' goal had already been voted as the best of the 2014 World Cup, helping the 23-year-old to claim the Golden Boot prize with a total of six strikes, and earned him 42% of the votes for the Puskas prize.

The Colombia international follows in the footsteps of illustrious names such as Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar and Zlatan Ibrahimovic, with Hamit Altintop and Miroslav Stoch having also won the award since its introduction in 2009.

Roche earned her nomination thanks to a wondergoal in Peamount's 2-0 Irish Women's National League win over Wexford Youths and came second with 33% of the votes.

Van Persie's magnificent header in Netherlands' stunning 5-1 World Cup win over Spain earned him third place overall.

2014 Fars News Agency. All rights reserved Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).

COPYRIGHT 2015 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:FARS News Agency
Geographic Code:3COLO
Date:Jan 13, 2015
Previous Article:Neuer, Luiz, Iniesta, Ronaldo, Messi in FIFPro XI.
Next Article:Joachim Low Voted FIFA World Coach of Year.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters