Printer Friendly

James L. Rutherford.


Skip Rutherford of Little Rock is dean of the University of Arkansas Clinton School of Public Service, the only school in the country offering a master's degree in public service. The school, on the grounds of the William J. Clinton Presidential Center & Park in Little Rock, opened in 2005.

Before joining the Clinton School, Rutherford was executive vice president of Cranford Johnson Robinson Woods. He was chairman of the board of the William J. Clinton Foundation from 1997-2006. He remains a Clinton Foundation board member. Rutherford also supervised the planning for the Clinton Presidential Library from 1997 until it opened in 2004.

He is a former administrative assistant to U.S. Sen. David Pryor and past president of the Little Rock School Board.

Rutherford was the first president of the advisory board for the Arkansas School for Mathematics & Science. He is a member of the board of directors of Arkansas Children's Hospital and Lyon College and a founding member of the Little Rock Central High Museum & Visitor Center Board.

A 1972 journalism graduate from the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, Rutherford received the journalism department's first Distinguished Alumnus Award. He was named the 2006 Tourism Person of the Year at the Arkansas Governor's Conference on Tourism. He also was honored as the 2005 Arkansan of the Year by the Arkansas Broadcasters Association and received the William E Rector Memorial Award for distinguished civic achievement in Little Rock. He was named 2004 Arkansan of the Year by the Arkansas Times and 2004 Headliner of the Year by the Arkansas Press Association.

Rutherford received the Humanitarian Award from the Arkansas Chapter of the National Conference of Community & Justice, the Men of Volunteer Achievement from the Retired Senior Volunteer Program, the Arkansas Community Service Award from the Arkansas Department of Volunteerism, the Martin Luther King Award from the Black Community Developers and the Community Service Award from the University of Arkansas Alumni Association.

AIA Arkansas is proud to name James L. "Skip" Rutherford the recipient of this year's Award of Merit.
COPYRIGHT 2007 Journal Publishing, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2007 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Award of Merit; University of Arkansas. Clinton School of Public Service
Comment:James L. Rutherford.(Award of Merit)(University of Arkansas.
Publication:Arkansas Business
Geographic Code:1U7AR
Date:Oct 29, 2007
Previous Article:Remaining projects.
Next Article:Judges.

Related Articles
Education. (Movers & Shakers).
Education. (Movers & Shakers).
Education. (Movers & Shakers).
Coach heath tops state employee salary roster. (List Overview).
Education. (Movers & Shakers).
Rutherford named dean of UA Clinton School.
Aboard the lobbyist express: Arkansas cities, colleges invest in Washington lobbying firms.
Thomas H. Oxner, professor of accounting at the University of Central Arkansas in Conway, has received the 2008 Distinguished Achievement in...

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |