Printer Friendly

James Flanagan elected president of NEPA.

James Flanagan, chairman of Marblehead, Mass.-based Opus Communications Inc., a division of HCPro, was elected president of NEPA at its annual international conference. He succeeds Marjorie Weiner.

Flanagan told the conference delegates that he sees "an attitudinal sea change in the association. It's different now--smaller but not diminished."

A spate of mergers in recent years conspired with a weak economy to reduce the number of member companies. Membership, which is at 596 now, peaked in the nineties at around 875.

NEPA executive director Patricia Wysocki told NL/NL that because of careful fiscal management the past few years the association has enough money in reserve to operate for a full year, if it had to, without any additional income.

Former NEPA secretary and 2002 conference chairman Bob Jenkins, of Health Resources Publishing, Manasquan, N.J., moved up to vice president.

Dan Oswald of Lawrence Ragan Communications Inc., Chicago, was elected secretary. The new treasurer is Ira Mayer, of EPM Communications, New York City.

Newly elected to the board are Cynthia Carter, president of Washington Business Information Inc., Falls Church, Virginia; Samantha Gardiner, president of The Coding Institute, Naples, Florida; and James O'Shea, associate publisher of Aspen Law & Business, New York City.

Re-elected to the board was James Sinkinson, president of Infocom Group, Emeryville, Calif., who served on the board in the early nineties and as president of the association in 1993-1994. Last year Sinkinson was named to the NEPA Hall of Fame.
COPYRIGHT 2002 The Newsletter on Newsletters LLC
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2002, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:The Newsletter on Newsletters
Date:Jun 15, 2002
Previous Article:Convergence of new media and "back to basics" marks annual NEPA conference in Washington.
Next Article:Dr. Leslie Norins inducted into NEPA Hall of Fame.

Related Articles
New NEPA president vows to lead "members into the next generation of publishing".
Marjorie Weiner elected president of an "alive and well" NEPA.
Jim Sinkinson voted into NEPA Hall of Fame, Barbara Kaplowitz named Volunteer of the Year.
NIGERIA - The Power Sector.
Winter Special Publishers Conference. (Conference).
Conference. (Who, What, When & Where).
Robert Jenkins succeeds James Flanagan as NEPA president, group has $1 million in bank.
Dan Oswald elected NEPA president.
Meanwhile, in Georgia ... Among the many openly gay and lesbian candidates running in state-level contests this year, these are some other notable...
Ira Mayer elected president of NEPA.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters