Printer Friendly

JCD body thru election July 15.

Amid a movement by some Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal (JCD) leaders, the schedule for the election to form Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal's new committee was announced on Sunday. Convenor of JCD Election Management Committee Khairul Kabir Khokon announced that the election will be held on July 15.

The election will be held to the posts of the president and the secretary, he told a press briefing at the BNP's Nayapaltan central office. He said the voter list will be published on Monday and the contestants have to vie for posts maintaining the age limit. On Saturday, the aggrieved leaders of the recently-dissolved JCD committee announced to continue their movement until their demand for either formation of a new short-term committee or the removal of age limit is met. A BNP press release, signed by Rizvi, said a new committee would be formed within the next 45 days based on the opinions of its councillors. It said candidates planning to vie for various posts will have to be primary members, students of any educational institution in Bangladesh, and must have passed SSC and equivalent examinations after 2000.

The leaders of the dissolved committee demonstrated in front of the BNP office on June 11 and kept its main gate locked for 11 hours demanding the removal of age limit to join its new committee. Later, they staged demonstrations in front of the BNP office at different times with the same demand. JCD's last committee was formed on October 14, 2014, with Rajib Ahsan as its president and Akramul Hasan as general secretary. Meanwhile, the BNP on Saturday night expelled a dozen demonstrating leaders of Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal's (JCD) recently dissolved committee for breaching party discipline.

A press release, signed by BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, said the 12 leaders were stripped off all JCD posts, including primary memberships. Those who were expelled include Bashar Siddiqui, General Secretary of Dhaka University unit Chhatra Dal, Zahiruddin Tuhin, President of Dhaka Metropolitan South unit Chhatra Dal, Ejmol Hossain Pilot, Iktiar Kabir, Joydev Joy, Mamun Billah, vice-presidents of recently dissolved central committee, Asaduzzaman Asad and Bayezid Arefin, former joint-secretaries of the student front, Dabir Uddin Tushar, former assistant general secretary, Abdul Malek, Golam Azam Shoikot, former assistant organising secretaries, and Azim Pawari, member of the dissolved committee. Earlier in the day, the aggrieved leaders of the recently dissolved committee announced to continue their demonstration until their demand for either formation of a new short-term committee or the removal of age limit is met.

COPYRIGHT 2019 Knowledge Bylanes
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:The News Today (Dhaka, Bangladesh)
Date:Jun 24, 2019
Previous Article:Plea to regain manpower export market in UAE.
Next Article:'Law enforcers able to control all sorts of crimes'.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |