Printer Friendly

It's entry time for Western Home Awards 1985-86.

Why the doors to introduce our biennial Western Home Awards program? Opening doors to show off the best of Western resisdential architecture is one of Sunset Magazine's proudest traditions. And the image of an open door seems an appropriate signal to architects to enter their best work in the awards program for 1985-1986.

Two years ago, we presented a photographic collage of the 72 previous jurors; four years ago, we showed the covers that heralded the main articles, 1957 to 1979. These glances at the past served to underline the program's developing history and prestigious participants.

Within the next month, the doors at left will grace our official call for entries, to be mailed to registered architects throughout the 13 Western states. To each winner, we will present an award certificate complete with a signed photographic print of the doors.

In 1908, Charles and Henry Greene designed this beautiful teak and leaded-glass entry for the David and Mary Gamble "bungalow" in Pasadena. As part of the international Craftsman movement, the brothers Greene blended natural materials and fine craftsmanship with their appreciation for the casual life style possible in the moderate-climated West, bringing forth an enormously influential style of a architecture. Today fully restored, the Gamble house remains a stunning example of man's ability to create an architecture of timeless intrigue and beauty. (The house is open for 1-hour tours on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 10 to 3, sundays noon to 3; $4 adults, $3 seniors, under 18 free; telephone 818/793-3334.)

In April, we will announce the jurors for this year's awards program. In June, they will gather at Sunset's Menlo Park headquarters to select the winners. And in October, Sunset Magazine will feature the winning houses. Who is eligible to enter?

Entries must be the work of registered architects in the 13 Western states: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming. Only projects completed in these states since January 1, 1981, will be eligible. Entries may be made by an architect or owner with the other's consent. A developer or builder may enter with the consent of both architect and owner.

Within the next month, architects in the West should receive an entry brochure. If you're a registered architect and don't receive one by April 19, or if you're a builder, developer, or homeowner and would like one, please write to AIA--Sunset Magazine, Box 2345, Menlo Park, Calif. 94025. Entry fee is $50.
COPYRIGHT 1985 Sunset Publishing Corp.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1985 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Date:Feb 1, 1985
Previous Article:Bright and roomy in just 5.5 by 9 feet.
Next Article:You need one bandanna for a valentine bag.

Related Articles
Meet our Western Home Awards jury.
The compound idea.
Last call for entries.
It's time for Western Home Awards 1989-1990.
1991-1992 Western home awards.
1997-1998 Western Home Awards.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters