Printer Friendly

It's all gone to pot for Wales in Cup draw.

WALES have accepted they will be placed in the lowest group of seeds for this weekend's World Cup draw in Brazil.

Gary Speed's men yesterday went up two places in the Fifa rankings to 112th - but remain behind the Faroe Islands.

With the rankings having a significant bearing on the seeding pots for the World Cup draw in Rio, it means Wales are placed next to the likes of San Marino, Malta and Andorra in the bottom group of seeds.

The Faroe Islands usurp Wales to grab last place in Pot Five.

England could face a worst-case scenario of having to play France in qualifying for the 2014 tournament.

As expected, England are among the top seeds, placed in Pot One, but France are in Pot Two, with the likes of Russia and Sweden.

Giovanni Trapattoni's Republic of Ireland are in Pot Three, while Scotland and Northern Ireland are in Pot Four.

Meanwhile, Fifa announced that the 2014 World Cup finals will start on June 12 and finish on July 13.

The announcement comes days before the preliminary draw for the tournament, comprising 203 teams playing an eventual 824 matches across the globe.

At a news conference in Rio, Fifa president Sepp Blatter also announced that a decision whether to introduce goalline technology would be taken at next March's meeting in London of the International FA Board, the game's lawmakers.

Fifa also announced the World Cup play-off system, heavily criticised after Thierry Henry's handball for France against Ireland, would be maintained.

European qualification zone pots: Pot one: Spain, Holland, Germany, England, Portugal, Italy, Croatia, Norway, Greece. Pot two: France, Montenegro, Russia, Sweden, Denmark, Slovenia, Turkey, Serbia, Slovakia.

Pot three: Switzerland, Israel, Republic of Ireland, Belgium, Czech Republic, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Belarus, Ukraine, Hungary.

Pot four: Bulgaria, Romania, Georgia, Lithuania, Albania, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Austria, Poland.

Pot five: Armenia, Finland, Estonia, Cyprus, Latvia, Moldova, FYR Macedonia, Azerbaijan, Faroe Islands. Pot six: Wales, Liechtenstein, Iceland, Kazakhstan, Luxembourg, Malta, Andorra, San Marino.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2011 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Sport
Publication:Western Mail (Cardiff, Wales)
Geographic Code:4EUFA
Date:Jul 28, 2011
Previous Article:Henderson happy to live with that price on his head.
Next Article:Owen covets dining out at top table.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters