Printer Friendly

Indiana MTA chosen as state affiliate of the year. (Association News).

The Indiana Music Teachers Association (IMTA) is the recipient of the 2002 Music Teachers National Association State Affiliate of the Year Award. The association was awarded $1,000 and a plaque. "We are proud to present this award to IMTA. They have made a positive contribution to promoting music and music education with their ongoing and new initiatives," says MTNA President Dr. R. Wayne Gibson, NCTM.

IMTA, with Julianne Miranda, NCTM, currently serving as president and Karen Thickstun as immediate past president, was one of the first MTNA state affiliates to produce a website. Ongoing projects include a state newsletter published three times a year, a directory of lecturers and clinicians available to membership and listings for Indiana summer camps and workshops. They also host the annual IMTA Leadership Summit in January.

Ongoing initiatives include collaborative arts efforts for students and teachers, recognition to members of twenty-five years or more and a directory of early-childhood music teachers. They also will participate for the first time in the local PBS-TV station's "Let's Meet on Sesame Street" festival.

The State Affiliate of the Year Award recognizes the state Music Teachers Association that makes the most significant contribution to the music teaching profession through participation in MTNA national programs and additional programs established within their state. MTNA has fifty one state affiliates including the District of Columbia.
COPYRIGHT 2002 Music Teachers National Association, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2002, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Music Teachers Association
Publication:American Music Teacher
Article Type:Brief Article
Geographic Code:1U3IN
Date:Jun 1, 2002
Previous Article:Bolcom and Morris receive achievement award. (Association News).
Next Article:Joanne Smith is Teacher of the Year. (Association News).

Related Articles
Janie Green remembered as Foundation Fellow. (MTNA Foundation News).
Division elections.
Southern Division. (Division News).
Joanne Smith is Teacher of the Year. (Association News).
Local Association of the Year is Abilene MTA. (Association News).
East Central Division. (Division News).
Eastern Division. (Division News).
Texas is State Affiliate of the Year. (Association News).
Durum Triangle MTA is Local Association of the Year. (Association News).
Weber State University is 2003 Collegiate Chapter of the Year.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters