Printer Friendly

In memoriam.

AAAI notes with great sadness the passing of Elise Hill Turner (1959-2008), associate professor and chair of the University of Maine Department of Computer Science and codirector of the Maine Software Agents and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (MaineSAIL). Turner passed away Thursday, August 14, 2008, in Bangor, Maine, after a 7-year battle with biliary tract cancer (cholangiocarcinoma). She received her BA in computer science from Barnard College of Columbia University, her masters in computer science from Columbia, and her Ph.D. in computer science from Georgia Tech in 1989. After an initial appointment as an assistant professor at the University of New Hampshire, she began her appointment in the Computer Science Department at the University of Maine. Her research interests included natural language processing, discourse processing, multiagent systems, communication in multiagent systems, constraint satisfaction, planning in real-world systems, the interaction between planning and communication, cognitive science, and computer science education. Her close collaborator on much of her research was her husband and fellow professor, Roy Turner. She was a member of the ACM and IEEE, and had been a member of AAAI for more than 20 years.

As AI Magazine was in press, we were saddened to learn from the December 4, 2008 New York Times that AAAI fellow Oliver G. Selfridge (82) had died unexpectedly, the result of injuries sustained in a fall. A memorial is planned for a forthcoming issue of AI Magazine.

COPYRIGHT 2008 American Association for Artificial Intelligence
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2008 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:AAAI Member News
Publication:AI Magazine
Article Type:Obituary
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Dec 22, 2008
Previous Article:2009 Spring Symposium Series.
Next Article:Kenneth Ford named chairman of the NASA Advisory Council.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters