Printer Friendly

Imran, Shehbaz, Bilawal to contest general elections from multiple seats.

ISLAMABAD:Heads of thePakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) have reportedly decided to contest from several constituencies in the upcoming general elections. PTI Chairman Imran Khan has reportedly decided to contest the general elections from three constituencies in Punjab, one from Sindh and one fromKhyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP).

PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto would contest the general elections from Malakand in KP and Karachi and Larkana in Sindh. Former president Asif Ali Zardari did not make a decision regarding the matter so far but he was considering to contest for a National Assembly (NA) seat from Nawabshah.

PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif had decided to contest from Lahore but would also reportedly contest the general elections from NA-192 in Dera Ghazi Khan. While PTI Information Secretary Fawad Chaudhry said that Imran Khan planned to contest from constituencies in Rawalpindi, Mianwali, Karachi, Lahore and Bannu.

If the PTI supremo ends up contesting from Bannu, he would most likely face Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam (JUI-F)Maulana Fazlur Rehman or formerKP chief minister Akram Durrani. PTI Vice Chairman Shah Mehmood Qureshi decided to contest from NA-221 Tharparkar while PTI's Dr Arif Alvi from NA-247 in Karachi.

COPYRIGHT 2018 Asianet-Pakistan
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Pakistan Today (Lahore, Pakistan)
Geographic Code:9PAKI
Date:Jun 8, 2018
Previous Article:NAB interrogates HED secretary over corruption charges.
Next Article:ATC awards life sentence to hitman for killing KDA officer.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters