Printer Friendly


The printing technology program at Mattoon High School in Mattoon, Ill., has been recognized with the 2003 Frederick D. Kagy Education Award of Excellence. The award was presented to the school for its exemplary demonstration of instructional leadership, professionalism, use of innovative teaching techniques and promotion of the graphic communication industry.

Mattoon's program, which has achieved PrintEd accreditation from the Graphic Arts Education and Research Foundation, enrolls between 80 and 100 juniors and seniors in its Graphic Arts I course. Graphic Arts II is an honors-level course with rigorous requirements. Dr. Philip D. Age, assistant professor, digital graphic communication technology at Eastern Illinois University's School of Technology, nominated the Mattoon program, which has a goal of giving each student the opportunity to connect the academic curriculum with an actual product designed and produced by the student.

The Kagy Award was established in 1993 by the Society of Fellows of the Graphic Arts Technical Foundation (GATF). For more information, visit

Tiffany Chadges, a senior at Lake County Technical High School in Grayslake, Ill., was the top winner of "The Most Influential Women of the Collision Repair Industry" scholarship. The scholarship is sponsored by I-CAR in conjunction with Akzo Nobel Coatings Inc.

Chadges, a senior at Lake County Technical High School who was introduced to the industry by her father, says, "Knowing that I can make it in this world doing something I have shared my father's love for makes me want to pursue this career even more."

To apply for the scholarship, both the female student and her instructor were asked to write a short essay explaining why the student should be awarded the scholarship. Greg Brink is the collision repair instructor at Lake County.

Runner-up scholarships were awarded to eight students: Nova DiBartolo from Western Center for Technical Studies, Limerick, Pa.; Tiffanie Haggerty from Columbiana County Career & Technical Center, Lisbon, Ohio; Emily Janeczek from Upper Valley JVS, Piqua, Ohio; Michelle Jorgensen from Careerline Tech Center, Holland, Mich.; Keri Noland from West Campus Technical Center, Fayetteville, Ark.; Rachel Pangburn from RG Drage Career Technical Center, Massillon, Ohio; Erica Sweet from Capital Region Career & Technical School, Albany, N.Y.; and Stephanie Truitt from Sussex Tech High School, Georgetown, Del.
COPYRIGHT 2004 Association for Career and Technical Education
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2004 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:State Update
Date:Apr 1, 2004
Previous Article:California.
Next Article:Maryland.

Related Articles
Illinois. (State Update).
Creating Historical Drama.
Illinois Employer's Guide, 15th ed.
Bromberg and Ribstein on Limited Liability Partnerships, the Revised Uniform Partnership Act, and the Uniform Limited Partnership Act (2001), 2006 ed.
Appendix I--methodology.
Vance Industrial Div. promotes five editors.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters