Printer Friendly

Ian McEwan wins the James Tait Black Memorial prize.


Ian McEwan has been awarded the GBP10,000 James Tait Black Memorial prize for his novel Saturday.

Other authors on the shortlist included Ali Smith for her novel The Accidental and Kazuo Ishiguro for Never Let Me Go.

The shortlist for the prize, which is the oldest in the UK having been established in 1919, was selected by staff and graduate students in the University of Edinburgh's department of English literature.

BBC broadcaster James Naughtie and authors Ian Rankin and Alexander McCall Smith reportedly sat on the advisory committee for the awards.

According to The Guardian, McEwan will be presented with the award by the crime author Ian Rankin at a ceremony on 29 June at the Playfair Library Hall, Old College, South Bridge, Edinburgh, Scotland.
COPYRIGHT 2006 Normans Media Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2006 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:M2 Best Books
Article Type:Brief article
Geographic Code:4EUUK
Date:Jun 9, 2006
Previous Article:Spinetinglers aims to publish five new writers a month.
Next Article:Best of Germany tour guide book to be produced by LG Electronics and Lonely Planet.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |