Printer Friendly

IT'S A NO SHOW; The only nominees for Film Actor at the Scottish Baftas are staying away.


TRAINSPOTTING stars Ewan McGregor, Robert Carlyle and Ewen Bremner have all snubbed tomorrow night's Bafta Scotland awards. The T2 actors are the only nominees in the Film Actor category at the prestigious ceremony at Glasgow's Radisson Blu Hotel. But none will attend, and there is no sign of director Danny Boyle on the list either, even though he is nominated for the Director Fiction award and T2 is in the Feature Film category.

Guests had questioned whether Ewan, 46, from Crieff, Perthshire, would attend following news of his recent marriage troubles.

Recent reports suggest that his marriage to Eve Mavrakis is over and that he is now dating his Fargo co-star Mary Elizabeth Winstead.

Ewan and Eve got hitched in 1995 but he was recently seen in a passionate embrace with Mary and it has since emerged that he separated from Eve - the mother of his four daughters - in May. Ewan was spotted leaving his London home with Mary earlier this week and he has been seen without his wedding ring.

Last night, the T2 no-show was put down to filming commitments elsewhere.

Jude MacLaverty, director of Bafta Scotland, admitted she was a little disappointed by their absence.

She said: "The nominees for Trainspotting T2 are sadly unable to attend the ceremony this weekend.

"It's unfortunate, but all are across the Pond and tied up with prior commitments.

"We have such a wealth of talent coming out of Scotland, and it's fantastic that so many are working internationally - but it means it's not always easy to get home.

"They have sent messages and are naturally disappointed to be missing what's shaping up to be a wonderful evening.

"We're delighted to have the writer, producer and second unit director representing the production. "We've a star-studded red carpet line-up for Sunday and we can't wait to kick things off."

Outlander actor Sam Heughan, who wasn't eligible for a nomination this year due to show timings, has promised to make an appearance at the ceremony hosted by Edith Bowman.

Freya Mavor, Laura Fraser and Morven Christie will be there alongside others including James Cosmo, Peter Capaldi, Sharon Rooney, Sir Chris Hoy and Ewan's uncle Denis Lawson.

Armando Iannucci, the man behind The Day Today, Alan Partridge, Time Trumpet, The Thick of It and The Death of Stalin, will receive the Outstanding Contribution to Film and TV award.


CAN'T MAKE IT Danny Boyle

OTHER PLANS Ewan McGregor, Robert Carlyle and Ewen Bremner are expected to stay away tomorrow night

COPYRIGHT 2017 Scottish Daily Record & Sunday
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2017 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Daily Record (Glasgow, Scotland)
Geographic Code:4EUUK
Date:Nov 4, 2017
Previous Article:Turf luck will rattle the Reds.
Next Article:Two to go on trial over plot to kill MP.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters