Printer Friendly

IESNYC announces 2016 award winners.




Lumen Awards

IES's New York City Section announced the recipients of the 2016 Lumen Awards at the 48th Annual Lumen Gala on June 16 at Chelsea Piers in New York City. Fourteen awards recognizing New York City-based design firms for professionalism, excellence and originality in lighting design were presented in three categories: Lumen Award of Excellence, Lumen Award of Merit and Lumen Citation.

This year, two firms received Awards of Excellence: Tillotson Design Associates for New York's Lincoln Square Synagogue and Fisher Marantz Stone for Covington & Burling's office building in Washington, DC.

Six Awards of Merit were also presented. Domingo Gonzalez Associates for the Korean War Veterans Memorial Bridge in Nashville, TN; KGM Architectural Lighting for the OnAir and Open Studio at Hyundai Capital Services in Seoul, South Korea; One Lux Studio for the cafeteria at 85 Broad in New York City; Tillotson Design Associates for The Broad Museum in Los Angeles; and BuroHappold Engineering for both the Hillman Hall at Washington University in St. Louis, MO, and Grace Farms in New Canaan, CT.

The following projects received Lumen Awards of Citation: Orsman Design's The Sherry-Netherland; artist Christine Sciulli's ROIL; ICRAVE Lighting's Terminal A at Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport; Cooley Monato Studio's NBCUniversal Lobby and Mezzanine Restoration; Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design's Daryl Roth Theatre; and ARUP's Corning Museum of Glass Contemporary Art + Design Wing in Corning, NY.

Service Awards

IESNYC also recognized Members with Service Awards at the 2016 gala. Frank Conti received the IESNYC Brilliance Award for "dedicated service and contribution to the New York City lighting community"; Jeff Hoenig received the IESNYC Special Recognition Award for "outstanding service to the Section that has significantly furthered the purpose of the Society continuously in various programs and activities"; and Adrienne Shulman received the IESNYC Section Service Award in recognition of "outstanding service of five years or more to the Section that has significantly furthered the purpose of the Society continuously in various programs and activities."




Thesis Prizes

Lastly, IESNYC awarded its annual Thesis Prizes to Aditi Govil, MFA Lighting Design, Parsons School of Design, and Ukwatte L. Indika U. Perera, a research scientist at The Lighting Research Center at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. The $1,000 Thesis Prize recognizes degree candidates of graduate-level lighting programs in New York state. The winning theses "demonstrate excellence in design and/or research, and represent the intellectual insight, rigor and quality standards as set forth by their respective school departments and each student's thesis committee."

COPYRIGHT 2016 Illuminating Engineering Society
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2016 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:LD+A Magazine
Article Type:Awards list
Geographic Code:1U2NY
Date:Aug 1, 2016
Previous Article:Sustaining members.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters