Printer Friendly

IEEE Names Digital Signal Processing and System Theorist Dr. Thomas Kailath 2007 IEEE Medal of Honor Recipient.

Work Has Influenced Over Two Generations of Electrical Engineers and Mathematicians

PISCATAWAY, N.J. -- The IEEE, the world's leading professional association for the advancement of technology, announced today that Dr. Thomas Kailath, a respected leader in digital signal processing and systems theory, will receive the 2007 IEEE Medal of Honor. Some of Kailath's most recent research has influenced modern work in semiconductor manufacturing and wireless communications.

A professor of engineering at Stanford University, Kailath will be presented with the award at the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony in June 2007. The award is sponsored by the IEEE Foundation.

An IEEE Life Fellow, Kailath is receiving IEEE's highest award "for exceptional development of powerful algorithms in the fields of communications, computing, control and signal processing." A prolific researcher, his theoretical work led to fundamental breakthroughs in communications, information theory, signal detection and estimation and semiconductor manufacturing.

Over his many years of research and teaching, Kailath has mentored over a hundred doctoral and postdoctoral students - almost half of whom have gone on to become IEEE Fellows.

Kailath is a past president of the IEEE Information Theory Society and a recipient of its Shannon Award. Other honors include the 2006 IEEE Jack S. Kilby Signal Processing Medal in 2006, the IEEE Education Medal, Guggenheim and Churchill fellowships and election to the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Sciences, the Indian National Academy of Engineering and the Silicon Valley Engineering Hall of Fame.

The IEEE will present a total of 12 medals, a service award and leadership recognition awards at the June 2007 Honors Ceremony. In addition, the association will honor Texas Instrument DLP Products of Plano, Texas and Toyota Motor Corporation of Toyota-City, Aichi, Japan with corporate innovation recognition awards.

For a full listing of 2007 IEEE Medal recipients and other honorees, visit

About the IEEE

The IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.) is the world's largest technical professional society. Through its 365,000 members in 160 countries, the society is a leading authority on a wide variety of areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power and consumer electronics. Dedicated to the advancement of technology, the IEEE publishes 30 percent of the world's literature in the electrical and electronics engineering and computer science fields, and has developed more than 900 active industry standards. The organization also sponsors or co-sponsors nearly 400 international technical conferences each year.
COPYRIGHT 2006 Business Wire
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2006, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Business Wire
Date:Dec 5, 2006
Previous Article:Fitch Rates Southern California Edison's $400MM Secured Bond Issuance 'A+'; Outlook Stable.
Next Article:Cal Poly Engineering To Dedicate Solar Energy System Dec. 7.

Related Articles
The IEEE to Recognize Technology Leaders At London Event; Legendary Contributor to Electric Power Industry to Receive Top Honor.
Two Bell Labs Executives Win Top IEEE Awards.
Rubber Division offers awards. (Meetings).
Semiconductor Laser Pioneer to Receive 2003 IEEE Medal of Honor.
Analog Devices Chairman Receives IEEE Founders Medal.
Hitachi Visionary Honored with IEEE's Jun-ichi Nishizawa Medal.
United States of America's Congressional Medal of Honor Recipients and their official citations.
DFT Microsystems Co-Founders Receive IEEE Honors; Gordon Roberts, CTO, named IEEE Fellow; Kenneth Laker, VP, Receives Richard M. Emberson Award.
Pioneering Technologists to Keynote 42nd Design Automation Conference with Emphasis on Continued Innovation.
Grosch to receive Charles Goodyear Medal.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters