Printer Friendly

IARW, WFLO pick leaders at convention: Irishman and a second-generation chairman.

Paul Shortt of Castlecool Limited, Castleblayney, Ireland, was recently elected chairman of the International Association of Refrigerated Warehouses for 2006-07 at the annual convention of the IARW and the World Food Logistics Organization (WFLO) in Orlando, Florida.

Shortt, who has been managing director and owner of Castlecool Ltd. since 1995, is only the third European to serve as head of the IARW in its 115-year history. His leadership credentials include chairmanship of the Irish Cold Storage Federation (ICSF).

Other Europeans active at board level are: Manuel Kabana (Frio Puerto Valencia, Spain), IARW director; Derk van Mackelenbergh (Eurofrigo BV/Nichirei Corp., Rotterdam, The Netherlands), WFLO director; and Dr. David Arthey (Campden & Chorleywood Food Research Association, Gloucestershire, England), public member of the WFLO's Scientific Advisory Council.

"At a time when borders are falling around the world, facilitating a global business environment that finds us more interconnected every year, we see an increasingly complex matrix of regulations and business practices. This regulatory environment is one of our greatest challenges today--we certainly see it in Europe," said Shortt.

"Other issues include environmental restrictions, labor, transportation and changing customer expectations," he continued. "All of these are challenges that we can meet by working together in IARW and accessing the many resources that IARW and WFLO have to offer."

Other new IARW officers elected for the coming year were: Vice Chairman Ray Tarnowski (Philadelphia Warehousing & Cold Storage Company, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA), and Treasurer Michael Henningsen, Jr. (Henningsen Cold Storage Company, Hillsboro, Oregon, USA).

New at-large members named to the IARW's Board of Directors were Garry Tilburn (Reed Boardall Cold Storage Ltd., North Yorkshire, United Kingdom) and Doug Thomas (Bellingham Cold Storage Company, Bellingham, Washington, USA).

Ken Johnson (Merchants Terminal Corporation, Jessup, Maryland, USA) was elected 2006-07 chairman of WFLO. He is the second generation Johnson to hold the position, following in the footsteps of his father, Roy, who was president of the WFLO's predecessor organization, The Refrigeration Research Foundation (TRRF), from 1991-92.

Also elected as WFLO officers were: Vice Chairman Bruce Jayne (Hall's Warehouse Corporation, South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA), and Treasurer Don Schoeul (Nordic Cold Storage, LLC, Atlanta, Georgia, USA).
COPYRIGHT 2006 E.W. Williams Publications, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2006 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Warehousing World
Publication:Quick Frozen Foods International
Geographic Code:9JAPA
Date:Jul 1, 2006
Previous Article:Dutch fish and seafood export value up, with frozens top earner.
Next Article:Van der Goot representing IARW/WFLO in Central Europe.

Related Articles
PRW Industry and Trade Associations Demonstrate Commitment to Service.
Space: Definitely Not the Final Frontier For Today's Logistics-Driven PRWs.
IARW-WFLO Joint Conference in Athens Tackles QFF Logistics Issues in Greece.
Two organizations linked to build a global industry.
A busy year ahead for IARW and WFLO.
In memoriam: Jordan B. Tatter.
Ins and outs of food traceability in EU hot topic at WFLO Brussels conference: Europeans developing protocol that can be applied to any kind of food...
New IARW chairman is P&O's John Randall; WFLO taps Eben James of Trenton Cold Storage.
IARW, WFLO elect new slate of officers during annual convention in Las Vegas.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |