Printer Friendly

I notice that Ultimate Bone Support contains.

Q: I notice that Ultimate Bone Support contains an ingredient called osteogene--which conies from hops. Hops contains gluten, which celiacs like me need to avoid. Do I need to avoid this bone formula?

--R.L., Las Vegas, NV

A: You're right that celiacs must avoid gluten. But Ultimate Bone Support doesn't have any gluten in it. In fact, hops does not contain any gluten. Let me help you understand why.

Gluten is a protein in some grains that celiacs can't digest. If they eat it, they can damage the lining of their intestines and create a number of digestive problems. However, hops is a flower, not a grain. Therefore, it cannot contain any gluten. Only specific grains like wheat, rye, and barley contain the harmful kind of gluten that you need to avoid completely.

I'm aware that gluten sensitivity and gluten intolerance (celiac disease) are common--even in many people who are unaware of it. So I'd like to assure you that there are no supplements either sold through this newsletter or talked about in its articles that contain gluten.

COPYRIGHT 2011 Women's Health Letter
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2011 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

 
Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:ASK DR. NAN; celiacs and gluten
Publication:Women's Health Letter
Article Type:Brief article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Jun 1, 2011
Words:179
Previous Article:Begin today to make your golden years truly golden.
Next Article:I have had hives for years.
Topics:

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters