Printer Friendly

How the Winners Were Chosen.

The Risk Manager of the Year award was created in 1977 to increase recognition of the risk management profession and to recognize outstanding performance in the practice of risk management. The first award was presented in 1978. The Risk Management Honor Roll was introduced in 1981 to recognize other exceptional risk managers.

Anyone involved in risk management for a corporation, financial institution, not-for-profit institution or government entity can be nominated. The person need not practice risk management full time, but the candidate must be a full-time employee of the organization for which he or she practices risk management. Administrators and executive directors of self-insurance funds or self-insurance pools that deliver risk management services to members are eligible for nomination. The candidate maybe nominated by anyone familiar with his or her work, such as a superior, the risk management staff, a colleague with another company or a broker, insurer or other service supplier. Individuals named to the Risk Management Honor Roll are eligible to be re-nominated for the Risk Manager of the Year award five years after being named to the Honor Roll.

Nominations are judged by professionals representing all aspects of risk management and the commercial insurance industry, including the most recent winner of the Risk Manager of the Year award and persons named to the Risk Management Honor Roll, the current president of RIMS, and senior executives from the insurance sector. Judges score each candidate on the to criteria on the right. The candidate with the highest aggregate score is awarded the Risk Manager of the Year and the next-highest scoring candidates are named to the Risk Management Honor Roll.



Area Senior Vice President, Claim Advocate

Arthur J. Gallagher


Executive Vice President, Head of Customer Management



Spencer Educational Foundation


Executive Director, Office of Risk Management and Insurance

University of Pennsylvania

2017 Risk Management Honor Roll


2017 Risk Management Honor Roll


Director, Business Risk and Insurance


2017 Risk Manager of the Year


Director, Enterprise Risk Management

R1 RCM Inc.

2017 Risk Management Honor Roll


Director, Global Risk Management


2017 RIMS President


Executive in Residence/Instructor

Bowling Green State University


Criterion 1: Established and implemented an effective risk management program within the organization.

Criterion 2: Tackled and solved one or more major problem(s) for his or her organization.

Criterion 3: Innovatively applies diverse tools and strategies of risk management, such as enterprise risk management, strategic risk management, risk financing, insurance, etc.

Criterion 4: Creatively and effectively uses risk financing/insurance to structure a risk financing and risk transfer program that serves the needs of the organization.

Criterion 5: Established a workable intelligence system inside and outside the organization that culminates in allow of information about events and activities that affect the organization's risk management and exposures.

Criterion 6: Skillfully performs the functions of management in the overall organization and within the risk management/insurance department.

Criterion 7: Achieves the most effective program at the optimum cost over the long term.

Criterion 8: Developed technical expertise in any or all of the broad categories included within risk management, leading to a better managerial grasp of the operational aspects of the job.

Criterion 9: Exhibits an attitude and performs activities that foster the advancement of the risk management profession.

Criterion 10: Is developing his or her career, as exhibited by job history, education, honors and memberships.
COPYRIGHT 2018 Risk Management Society Publishing, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Scott Clark; Ben Evans; Juliana Keaton
Publication:Risk Management
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Apr 15, 2018
Previous Article:Joe Meaney: The AES Corporation.
Next Article:Risk Manager of the Year Past Winners.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters