Printer Friendly

Honors & awards. (faculty lounge).

Sally G. Hornor, associate professor of biology at Anne Arundel Community College in Arnold. Md., recently received a 2002 Environmental Hero award from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Dr. Scott Vander Ploeg, professor of humanities at Madisonville Community College in Madisonville, Ky., was elected executive director of the Kentucky Philological Association at the organization's annual conference this year.

A photograph of a fox on Alaska's Kodiak Island, taken by Joel Zachry, earned him a rust-place photography award at Tennessee's Pigeon Forge Wilderness Wildlife Week. Zachry is an associate professor of biology at Pellissippi State Technical Community College in Knoxville, Tenn.

Dr. Barbara Gaba, an adjunct instructor of psychology at Camden County College in Blackwood, NJ., is serving a one-year term as president of the New Jersey Community College Deans of Students Association. Gaba is also Camden's dean of academic and student support services.

Denise J. Anastasio, instructor and coordinator of the health information technology program at the College of Lake County in Grayslake, III., has been named recipient of the 2002 Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year Award.

The Maricopa Community Colleges of Arizona have announced this year's faculty recipients of the Distinguished Achievement Award, sponsored by the Women's Leadership Group/American Association of Women in Community Colleges:

* Janine Adkins, humanities faculty, Rio Salado College

* Karen Chalmers, faculty and director of culinary arts, Scottsdale Community College

* Char Howey, ESL/English faculty, Glendale Community College

* Joyce Janiga, math faculty, Paradise Valley Community College

* Dr. Wilma Patterson, faculty and chair of math, science and engineering division. South Mountain Community College

* Sandra Stuebner, psychology faculty, Chandler-Gilbert Community College

* Pearl Williams, faculty and division chair of developmental education, Estrella Mountain Community College.

Jerry Sortomme, associate professor and coordinator of the environmental horticulture department at Santa Barbara City College in Santa Barbara, Calif., has been named recipient of the 2002 Bert Kalman Educator Award by the California Association of Nurserymen.

Christopher Viteritti, an instructor of computer repair and maintenance, networking and programming at New York's Borough of Manhattan Community College has been named Teacher of the Year for Workforce Training by the New York Association for Continuing/Community Education, Inc.
COPYRIGHT 2002 Autumn Publishing
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2002 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Community College Week
Article Type:Brief Article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Jun 24, 2002
Previous Article:`Ironman of upholstery' retires with record intact. (faculty lounge).
Next Article:Higher ed. groups question Bush's foreign-student plan feasibility. (around the nation).

Related Articles
Honors & Awards.
Honors & Awards.
Honors & awards. (faculty lounge).
Honors & awards. (faculty lounge).
Honors & awards. (faculty lounge).
Honors & awards. (faculty lounge).
Honors & awards. (faculty lounge).
Honors & awards. (faculty lounge).
Honors & awards. (faculty lounge).
Honors & awards.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters