Printer Friendly

Honor Award - 2002.

Dr. Raymond Cieplik, the master of ceremonies for the NSCAA's Awards Banquet, found himself (technically) in the position of having to present himself as recipient of the 2002 Honor Award to be presented on Jan. 17, 2003, in Kansas City!

The former soccer coach at the U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Cieplik is in his fifth year as director of athletics and 34th year on the Academy faculty. During his 31 years as the Bears coach, he compiled a 248-165-34 record. That includes a string of 25 consecutive .500 or better seasons.


A 1967 graduate of Springfield (MA) College, he holds a master's degree from the U. of Massachusetts-Amherst and a Ph.D. from the U. of Connecticut. The five-year span between his presidency of the NSCAA and his selection for the Honor Award marks the shortest span in the organization's history. He currently serves as national chairman of the men's NSCAA Scholar All-America committee and is a member of several committees for the NCAA, Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference, the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference, and the Freedom Football Conference. He was inducted into the Springfield College Athletic Hall of Fame in 2000.


1970 Robert Henry "Harry" Rodgers, Referee, PA

1971 Donald Minnegan, Towson (MD)

1972 James Reed, Princeton

1973 John Squires, Connecticut

1974 Alden "Whitey" Burnham, Dartmouth College

1975 Robert Baptista, Wheaton College (IL)

1976 M.W. "Chick" Jacobus, Kingswood School

1977 Robert Guelker, SIU-Edwardsville

1978 Mickey Cochrane, Bowling Green (OH)

1979 James "Ted" Chambers, Howard University (DC)

1980 Donald Baker, Ursinus College (PA)

1981 Charles Matlack, Earlham College (IN)

1982 Harry J. Keough, Saint Louis

1983 Robert J. DeGrazia, California-Berkeley

1984 Julius Menendez, San Jose State

1985 C. Clifford McCrath, Seattle Pacific

1986 Walter A. Bahr, Penn State

1987 John McKeon, East Stroudsburg (PA) and James "Jimmy" Mills, Haverford College (PA)

1988 Joseph Bean, Wheaton College (IL)

1989 William H. Shellenberger, Lynchburg College (VA)

1990 Raymond Bernabei, NISOA

1991 Russ Carr, Westmont College (CA)

1992 Robert E. Nye, College of Wooster (OH)

1993 A. Terry Jackson, Wesleyan University (CT)

1994 Timothy O. Schum, Binghamton (NY)

1995 Joe Morrone, Connecticut

1996 Clay Berling, Publisher, Soccer America magazine

1997 Jerry Yeagley, Indiana

1998 Robert Robinson, Lower Merion H.S. (PA)

1999 Miller Bugliari, The Pingry School (NJ)

2000 Peter Gooding, Amherst College (MA)

2001 Bill Holleman, Shiloh HS (GA)


COPYRIGHT 2003 Scholastic, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2003, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Raymond Cieplik; related article : Past Honor Award Winners
Author:Cieplik, Raymond
Publication:Coach and Athletic Director
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Dec 1, 2003
Previous Article:NSCAA/ADIDAS: coaches of the year, 2002.
Next Article:Reg. technical directors.

Related Articles
Literary awards.
Aloha and congratulations! (Association Bulletin).
Registration opens for 2003 Service Excellence Awards.
Bill Jeffrey Award, Robert W. Robinson Award & long-term service awards.
NAMA announces award winners.
Letter from the president.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |