Printer Friendly

Hong Kong : LegCo Members meet with members of Yuen Long and Southern District Councils.

The following is issued on behalf of the Legislative Council Secretariat:

Members of the Legislative Council (LegCo) held separate meetings today (January 12) with members of the Yuen Long District Council (DC) and the Southern DC respectively at the LegCo Complex to discuss and exchange views on matters of mutual interest.

During the meeting with the Yuen Long DC, LegCo Members discussed and exchanged views with DC members on a number of issues, including the Hung Shui Kiu New Development Area and the development plans in Kam Tin South and Yuen Long South; identification of the site for constructing the public market in Tin Shui Wai and the formulation of the relevant works programme; safeguarding the traditional rights of the indigenous inhabitants of the New Territories; proposing to amend the law on adverse possession in accordance with the recommendations put forward by the Law Reform Commission of Hong Kong; and timetable for the construction of noise barriers along Long Tin Road in Yuen Long. The meeting was convened by Mr Chan Han-pan, and attended by Mr Michael Tien, Mr Steven Ho, Mr Yiu Si-wing, Mr Ma Fung-kwok, Mr Leung Che-cheung, Ms Alice Mak, Mr Ip Kin-yuen, Dr Lo Wai-kwok, Mr Andrew Wan, Dr Junius Ho, Mr Ho Kai-ming, Mr Holden Chow, Mr Chan Chun-ying, Mr Luk Chung-hung, Mr Lau Kwok-fan, Dr Cheng Chung-tai and Mr Kwong Chun-yu.

As for the meeting with the Southern DC, LegCo Members discussed and exchanged views with DC members on a number of issues, including the cityscape of Southern District (covering street cleanliness and hygiene in the district); planning projects in the district and associated traffic issues; tourist facilities and complementary transport facilities; district facilities; and the scope of the funding under District Minor Works Projects and related matters. The meeting was convened by Mr Kwok Wai-keung and attended by Mr James TO, Mr Abraham Shek, Mr Tommy Cheung, Mr Jeffrey Lam, Mr Wong Ting-kwong, Ms Starry Lee, Mr Chan Kin-por, Mr Paul Tse, Mr Charles Mok, Mr Poon Siu-ping, Dr Lo Wai-kwok, Dr Pierre Chan, Mr Cheung Kwok-kwan and Mr Lau Kwok-fan.

[c] 2017 Al Bawaba ( Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).

COPYRIGHT 2018 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Mena Report
Date:Jan 13, 2018
Previous Article:Hong Kong : SCED visits Central and Western District.
Next Article:Canada : Bombardier Statement on Review of Options for Downsview Site.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters