Printer Friendly

Hawkins wins board seat.

There won't be a contested Bar Board of Governors race in the 15th Circuit, since one candidate dropped out after moving his practice from Palm Beach County.

Daniel Morman informed the Bar he had stopped practicing in Palm Beach County and, since he lives in Miami-Dade County, he no longer qualifies to seek the open 15th Circuit seat on the board.

His withdrawal means that Scott G. Hawkins has been elected without opposition to replace retiring board member Michael Kranz in Seat 3 of the 15th Circuit.

That still leaves 22 candidates running for six contested seats in other circuits, including 10 candidates running for one seat in the 11th Circuit. There is also one other contested race for an 11th Circuit seat. Other races are in the First, Sixth, 17th, and 18th circuits.

There are also four candidates running for two seats on the Young Lawyers Division Board of Governors. Kevin M. Kohl has dropped out of the 10th Circuit, Seat One. race, leaving Sara L. Reyes and Victor R. Smith still on the ballot. The other race is in the Fourth Circuit.

Ballots will be mailed by March 1 by the Bar's elections company, Elections Services Corporation (ESC). Bar members will have the option of voting by paper ballot or online at ESC's Web site, All ballots must be cast or received no later than midnight March 22.
COPYRIGHT 2004 Florida Bar
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2004 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:After opponent withdraws
Publication:Florida Bar News
Date:Feb 1, 2004
Previous Article:Errata.
Next Article:ABA Techshow set for March, discounts available to members of The Florida Bar.

Related Articles
Democrat joins race for House.
Education top issue for District 14 hopefuls.
Eugene School Board backs 'rainy day' ballot measure.
Farr, Walker win legislative races.
Brown v. Board of Education was about opportunity.
UO professor Lininger, Atkinson top Lane ESD races.
Official steps out of recount; Goggins gave Rushton $100.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |