Printer Friendly

Guinea : Meeting on risk reduction in member countries of ECCAS.

In the capital of the Democratic Republic of Congo, Kinshasa, the fourth session of the Central African regional platform for disaster risk reduction (DRR) it took place. This meeting was held on October 28 and 29, with the aim of defining an Action Plan for implementation of Disaster Management in the region. The meeting was attended by authorities of the Member States of the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) and delegations from the Regional Office of the United Nations for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs in West and Central Africa (OCHA) and authorities from African, the Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) and the European Union (EU).

Another issue discussed was the assessment of the preparedness and response to crises, as agreed at the last meeting of 2014 held in Libreville (Gabon), to make new contributions to the development of the African position, as part of the World Humanitarian Summit. This summit is scheduled for next April, in Istanbul (Turkey).

Equatorial Guinea is one of the countries of the ECCAS, along with Cameroon, Gabon, Congo, Chad, Democratic Republic of Congo, Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic and Sao Tome and Principe.

[c] 2015 Al Bawaba ( Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).

COPYRIGHT 2015 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Mena Report
Geographic Code:6ZAIR
Date:Nov 4, 2015
Previous Article:Gambia : LATRIKUNDA GERMAN Central Sub-Ward Water Extension Project in Progress.
Next Article:Guinea : Entrepreneur of the Year Project.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters