Printer Friendly

Great day for hosts.

HOLMFIRTH Harriers hosted the 2011 YVAA CC Championships at Fartown High School on Saturday.

The club is grateful for a great turn-out of volunteers to help with setting out the course, car parking, marshalling, refreshments, registration and clearing the course and hall after the event.

While none of the Holmfirth teams had all their fastest runners out, the ladies in particular continued to show their strength in depth with four runners in the first eight including Helen Berry, who was first and Jacqui Khoueiry fourth.

In the age group categories the club had: 35-F44 Helen Berry first and Jacqui Khoueiry third and, with Nicola Brown, they also won the first team medals.

Debbie Hall also ran strongly to finish 17th and sixth F35.

F45-54 Julia Johnson was third and with Jean Shotter and Helen Pettit they won the first team medals. Also, with the addition of Alison Whitelegg and Anne Smith, they won the All to Count Trophy as well.

In the F55+ section, Lesley Ewart was first and with Adrienne Dewhirst and Den Kersey they also won first team - making it a clean sweep of first team awards in all three age groups.

With many of our fastest men absent - especially in the younger age categories - the men found medals harder to come by.

In the M35-49 races Darren Hanson (M40) was first Harrier home in 30th.

He was followed by James Durrans (M40) in 46th; Gary Graham (M40) in 48th; Brandon Holroyd (M35) having a good run in 52nd, Andrew Smithson (M40) in 76th and Richard McLeod (M40) in 78th.

It was a pity more of the younger male vets did not turn out to support these runners and at least give them a chance of fighting for the All to Count Team trophy.

In the M50-59, first home and running well once again was Andy Hauser, who was fourth M55 in 12th overall, followed by Kevin Yewlett (M55) in 28th, Mike Pennington (M50) in 56th and Steve White (M55) in eighth.

In the M60-69 Rob Kersey was first Harrier home in 30th (2nd M60) followed by Steve Beardsell (M60) in 60th, Bill Wade fourth M65 in 70th, Tim Cock (M65) in 83rd and Bill Hunter (M60) in 84th. This gave Holmfirth both the 1st Team (three to score) medals and the All to Count Trophy in this age group.

The YVAA multi-terrain Grand Prix series starts in April with races throughout the year. All details on


DETERMINED: Mike Pennington and Steve White RUNNING WELL: Rob Kersey and Kevin Yewlett (S) STRONG RUN: Debbie Hall and Nicola Brown. All photos by Norman Berry (zz050411haz1) MEDAL HAUL: Helen Berry gained individual and team successes (S) AMONGST PRIZES: Lesley Ewart and Julia Johnson (yellow shirts)
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2011 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Features
Publication:Huddersfield Daily Examiner (Huddersfield, England)
Date:Apr 9, 2011
Previous Article:Hit-and-miss United too good for blurred Vision.
Next Article:Junior RL results and fixtures.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters