Printer Friendly

Grapevine: Vilsack names members to 3 USDA boards ...

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has named the chairman and three government members to USDA's Consultative Group to Eliminate the Use of Child Labor and Forced Labor in Imported Agricultural Products. They include Chairman Bud Philbrook (USDA deputy under secretary for Farm and Foreign Agricultural Services); Ann Wright (USDA deputy under secretary for Marketing and Regulatory Programs); Sandra Polaski (Labor Department deputy under secretary for International Affairs); and Karen Stewart (State Department acting assistant secretary for the Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor).

Vilsack also named the following nine private sector members to the Consultative Group: Bama Athreya (executive director, International Labor Rights Forum, Washington, D.C.); Dorianne Beyer (agricultural labor consultant, Social Accountability International, New York, N.Y.); Eric Edmonds (associate professor of economics, Dartmouth University, Hanover, N.H.); Kimberly Elliott (senior fellow, Center for Global Development, Peterson Institute, Washington, D.C.); Bill Guyton (president, World Cocoa Foundation, Washington, D.C.); Dennis Macray (director, Ethical Sourcing and Global Responsibility, Starbucks Coffee Co., Seattle, Wash.); Edward Potter (director, Global Workplace Rights, Coca-Cola Co., Atlanta, Ga.); Margaret Roggensack (policy director, Free the Slaves, Washington, D.C.); and Auret Van Heerden (president and CEO, Fair Labor Association, Washington, D.C.)

The new group, which was established by the 2008 farm bill, will develop and make recommendations to Vilsack regarding guidelines to reduce the likelihood that agricultural products imported into the United States are produced with the use of child or forced labor.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has named the following five individuals to five-year terms on the National Organic Standards Board: Joe Dickson (certification director of Whole Foods, Austin, Texas); Jay Feldman (executive director of Beyond Pesticides, Washington, D.C.); John Foster Earthbound Farms, McMinnville, Ore.); Wendy Fulwider organic farmer, Viroqua, Wis.); and Annette Riherd (organic fruit and vegetable farmer, Oologah, Okla.).

Daren Coppock has been appointed president and CEO of the Agricultural Retailers Association. Since 2001, he had been CEO of the National Association of Wheat Growers.

The Farm Foundation has presented Informa Economics Chief Economist Bill Motes with the top prize in a competition which sought to identify innovative and promising public policy options to address future agriculture and food system challenges. Motes' top entry in the competition, "Three Decades Hence-Thinking About Global Agricultural Resource Allocation Policies," also was won in the category of Global Markets and Recession. Informa Economics publishes this newsletter.
COPYRIGHT 2009 Informa Economics, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2009 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:The Food & Fiber Letter
Date:Oct 12, 2009
Previous Article:News & comment: Lobbyists barred from trade panels.
Next Article:Climate change hearings underway in Senate.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters