Printer Friendly

Goverenment Plolicy.

Government Policy Advisory Division

The Government Policy Advisory Division is responsible for developing and implementing the association's policy agenda that serves as a guide to NDIA's education and lobbying activities. Division membership includes senior NDIA staff, division chairmen, chapter presidents and board appointees.


Division Leadership:

Glenn Baer Chair ARINC Inc.

Toni White Vice Chair Raytheon Co.


Point of Contact:

Peter M. Steffes

Vice President, Government Policy * (703) 247-9470

Legislative Information Division

The purpose of the Legislative Informmation Division is to identify legislative items in the national security area of significant interest to the NDIA membership. Legislation monitored by the division includes:

* Authorization and appropriations legislation for the Department of Defense

* Congressional budget actions

* Procurement policy issues

* International trade issues

The LID invites members of Congress and staff, senior Department of Defense representatives, defense industry executives and outside defense experts to participate in roundtable discussions about the current status of the defense industry, proposed legislation, regulations and policies. All material and information presented is not-for-attribution and is for the benefit of NDIA corporate members and invited guests.

Past speakers include:

* Members of Congress

* Senior congressional staff

* Senior Department of Defense officials

* Senior DHS officials

Division Leadership:

Gerald Harvey Chair Lockheed Martin

Rob Hood Vice-Chair CH2M

Point of Contact:

Pete Steffes

VP, Government Policy (703) 247-9470

A complete schedule and description of Division activities is available online at:

Procurement Division

A key component of NDIA's Government Policy team is the Procurement Division. This division serves as the industry ombudsman, giving NDIA membership access to the full spectrum of regulatory and legal issues of importance to the defense industrial base.

The disciplines represented in the division are apparent in the names of the committees: contract finance, contract and acquisition management, legal, industrial security and program management systems.

The division reviews and provides comments on major acquisition regulations and offers members opportunities to sit on industry/ government ad hoc boards. The division also engages in the preparation and filing of amicus curiae briefs before the appeals courts and the U.S. Supreme Court. These briefs, done on a pro bono basis, involve cases having an industry wide application or a constitutional basis.

Point of Contact: Ruth Franklin Director, Procurement rfranklin * (703) 247-2598

Procurement Planning Committee

This committee functions as the executive body of the Procurement Division. It determines the division's objectives, policies and major courses of action and means of implementing such objectives and policies. This is an elected body.

Committee Leadership:

Karen L. Manos Chair Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher, LLP

Janice M. Menker Vice Chair Concurrent Technologies Corporation

Contract Finance Committee

This committee focuses on the many constantly evolving pricing, costing and financial aspects of government acquisition. Acquisition activities relating to financial management, financial accounting, auditing, cost allowability, cost reporting, contract pricing, financing, profits, payments and disbursements are subject areas of concern, reaction, recommendation and follow-up for this committee.

Committee Leadership: John Russell Chair Northrop Grumman Corporation

John Bartholomew Vice Chair Concurrent Technologies Corporation

Contract and Acquisition Management Committee

This committee monitors those aspects of government acquisition dealing with the solicitation process, contract negotiation and the administration and close-out of government contracts.

Committee Leadership:

Christopher Veith Chair The Boeing Company

Deborah Thurman Vice Chair ManTech International

Legal Committee

This committee acts on legal issues facing government contractors, including statutes, regulations, court decisions and federal agency policies related to the affairs of the association generally and to the federal acquisition and procurement process more specifically.

Committee Leadership: Michael Littlejohn

Chair Day & Zimmermann, Inc.

Richard L. Farr Vice Chair Harris Corporation

Program Management Systems Committee

The Program Management Systems Committee provides the Procurement Planning Committee with advice and recommendations on policy, regulation and law in matters regarding industry program management systems affected by government acquisition policy and regulations.

Committee Leadership:

Joseph Kusick Chair Raytheon Space & Airborne Systems

Michael Martin Vice Chair Pratt &. Whitney.

Industrial Security Committee

This committee represents member companies' interests in all matters regarding industrial security. It is responsible for monitoring all security matters relating to the Defense Industrial Security Program, special access programs and other activities that affect national security programs and corporate assets.

Committee Leadership:

James R. Hallo Chair The MITRE Corporation

Kenneth L. White Vice Chair Raytheon Missile Systems

Industrial Committee for Program Management

The purpose of the ICPM is to provide a forum for senior program management representatives from the Defense Department and NDIA corporate member companies to periodically meet and review issues of common interest and concern. Topics for discussion include program management policies and procedures which impact military systems development, procurement and use. Broad objectives of the ICPM include: provide a continuing forum for government-industry discussions and exchange of views related to program management activities; discuss Department of Defense and military service policies that affect relationships with suppliers; discuss emerging issues in government and industry that affect the readiness and capabilities of U.S. defense systems producers; cooperate on various projects of mutual benefit to the ICPM participants; and serve as an output-oriented government-industry body focused on analyzing problems and proposing solutions related to the management of acquisition programs.

Point of Contact

Ruth Franklin

Director, Procurement Division RFranklin@ndia org (703) 247-2598

The following divisions are overseen by NDIA's Vice President for Government Policy, Peter M. Steffes.
COPYRIGHT 2011 National Defense Industrial Association
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2011 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:National Defense Industrial Association's divisions and committees
Comment:Goverenment Plolicy.(National Defense Industrial Association's divisions and committees)
Publication:National Defense
Article Type:National organization overview
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Aug 1, 2011
Previous Article:Undersea Warfare Division.
Next Article:Chapters.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters