Printer Friendly

Gormenghast series.

Gormenghast series Three fantasy novels--Titus Groan, Gormenghast, and Titus Alone--by British author and illustrator Peake, Mervyn. With the novella Boy in Darkness they compose the Gormenghast epic, a bildungsroman about Titus, 77th Earl of Groan.

Titus Groan (1946) tells of Titus's infancy in the dank castle of Gormenghast, a crumbling medieval monstrosity surrounded by the mud huts of the "outer dwellers." Subplots and secondary characters, including his frivolous sister Fuchsia and the guileful, ambitious Steerpike, are the primary objects of attention.

In Gormenghast (1950) Titus grows from adolescence to early manhood and becomes conscious of his need for freedom and love. He eventually leaves Gormenghast in search of his destiny.

Though modern elements, including automobiles, airplanes, electronic devices, and glass-and-steel buildings, feature in Titus Alone (1959), the novel is no less fantastic or gothic than its predecessors. Peake was planning a fourth Gormenghast novel at the time of his death in 1968.

COPYRIGHT 1995 Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, [c] 2002 Merriam-Webster, Incorporated. Published under license with Merriam-Webster, Incorporated.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1995 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature
Date:Jan 1, 1995
Previous Article:Gorky, Maksim.
Next Article:Gorres, Joseph von.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters